Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
loved this recipe. As for what someone else said i put in 2 tbls of cornstarch instead of 3/8 and it turn out great. Tasted better nice and cool. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was quite good and I had no trouble. I actively--but not "athletically"--whisked this, and turned down the heat a little bit when I felt it start to thicken on the bottom of the pan. In my case, I did not need to wait for the pudding to boil, as it had thickened (spoon test) before boiling. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
too much corn starch but otherwise pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Youngtown, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
My mom's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I didn't have Dark Brown sugar, so I subtracted around 2 TBSP and added molasses. Like the other reviewer I only used 2TBSP corn starch which I stired into the sugar throughly before adding any liquid. It thickened up beautifully and hubby loved it! I'll use this easy recipe again and again THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Lumps, lumps, and more lumps....tasty, but man there were a lot of lumps!!! I stirred it for a good 20 minutes straight and it was still lumpy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Wonderful recipe. My husband raved about it saying it was definitely butterscotch and so much better than the box. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I may have messed this up. Due to other reviews, I used 3/4 cup sugar instead of a full cup - but I only had light brown. I couldn't wait to try it, so I did. It did get lumpy, so next time I will try the trick of heating up ALL the ingredients minus some of the liquid and the cornstarch. Hopefully it won't lump then. I may also use just 1/4 cup of cornstarch; it just seemed a little thick to me. It didn't taste lik butterscotch, but I really think it's because I used the wrong sugar. It tasted good, but it was still a little over-sweet. I'll come back on and let you know how the next batch goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Good recipe. Based on the prior reviews, I was a bit sceptical but had to jump in and try it. A few tips....I used yellow sugar instead of dark brown and measured 3/4 cup loosely packed. I decreased the butter to a 2-ish tbsp. To keep the lump-factor to a mimimum, stir with a slotted wooden spoon or whisk. Remove from the heat to add the vanilla and butter. Even if there are lumps, keep stirring/beating/whisking...most, if not all, should disappear. The addictiviness (?) of this pudding is HIGH so beware!! Thanks Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Tastes delicious! I had to turn the heat up in order to get it to thicken, but other than that, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States