Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was very good, but I think it has a little too much cornstach in it. I used it as a pie filling, and once it sat in the refrigerator for awhile it was a bit too firm/rubbery in texture. Next time I make it I think I will cut the cornstarch down to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. It definitely needs all the corn starch stated in the recipe. I followed other reviewers about putting in less, and it was not a smart idea. Don't leave your pudding alone with the eggs in it! Stir constantly, or your eggs are sure to curdle like mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did not find it too sweet at all. I did not have any corn starch, and substituted flour. I think it would have been creamier with the corn starch. I also cooked it in the microwave. This was great served with cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
It was pretty good- there were LOTS of chunks in it... but I ran it through the blender quick and solved that, completely. It tasted kind of salty at the first bite, but after that it tasted better- so maybe it was just me not used to it.... but beware because of all the chunks... but they don't ruin it if you blend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Far too sweet. would not make again. Even my 9 & 11 year old daughters could not finish a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Too sweet for me, but my kids loved it (of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this is delicious. i cut the cornstarch down to 1/4 a cup, and used a bit less sugar. i also used soymilk because i'm lactose intolerant- worked fine. i would recommend keeping a whisk handy. if it tries to lump, that'll take care of it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavymetalchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
good recipe. use more milk,a little less sugar and a little less cornstarch to improve this pudding. here's a helpful hint. I had my mixer handy and right after it thickened I beat it for about a minute with the mixer on medium speed. all the lumps disappeared and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Easy trick to keep your cornstarch from lumping in any recipe, not just this one. Mix cornstarch thoroughly with COLD liquid (water, milk, etc.) to dissolve, THEN place on stove & heat, stirring constantly. You will end up with completely lump-free sauce (pudding, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've used this recipe numerous times and it has always turned out wonderfully. I went with other reviewers using only 2 tblsp cornstarch, and dark brown sugar has too much molasses for my taste so I always use light brown instead. Don't stint on the amounts of sugar and butter too much - they're the ingredients that make it "butterscotch." Also, many cooks seem to be having a problem with lumps. Cornstarch has a nasty habit of lumping when mixed with sugar. You can eliminate them almost entirely by mixing the starch in well with the sugar and salt before adding the other ingredients. Lastly, instead of tempering the eggs, mix them well and add them, along with the milk, to the entire recipe before you even turn on the burner. Some recipes are fussy about when certain ingredients are added. This isn't one of them. Remember to stir *constantly* once it's on the burner or else the lumps you got rid of from the above step will come back to haunt you! -grin- Once again, this recipe makes a delicious pudding and Maryann, I thank you so much for submitting it. It's truly a favorite here at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nichols, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States