Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I put 3 tablespoons of butter in the pot first, and then added the sugar. I heated those together, and added a splash of the milk, then heated that til smooth and hot. Then I added the cornstarch and milk to the sugar, and then the eggs (per the recipe) I added good rum and vanilla at the end, and it came out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe - holy COW this stuff is good! I can't believe so much flavor comes out of such simple ingredients! Mine did come out with a few lumps, will try combining the cornstarch with the cold milk before adding, and will also try making it with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
HOLY YUMMO!!! I loved it! :) Did use flour in place of the cornstarch, had no problems with lumping, and also used light brown sugar as well. :) Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I wasn't too thrilled with this pudding. I've made chocolate and vanilla pudding numerous times in the past and loved them both but this recipe just didn't taste as good as I remember butterscotch pudding to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Became too lumpy but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is my husband's account but I felt I HAD to comment! I have never before made homemade pudding. This was very easy to follow and the pudding turned out FANTASTIC! I didn't have any real butter but I used "I can't believe it's not butter" and I didn't notice a difference. It's rich and creamy and doesn't taste like premixed store bought pudding. I will definitely use this recipe again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrettRoss1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Tasty pie filling, I added sherry but wish I had added a bit more. Next time will try to add scotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breefolk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good. But...it was way too sweet and I already reduced to 3/4 cup sugar. Next time I am going to try with 2/3 cup brown sugar and 2 tbs butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
OK recipe. Very creamy, and rich, but lacking. Made it as directed, but tempered the eggs. In my opinion, it was good BEFORE the eggs. It thickened before adding them, so it would probably work fine that way. Anyway, finished product, in my husband's opinion was, "just something sweet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as printed without reading any reviews. The thickness was just right and the flavor was awesome other than it was a tad bit too salty (and a salt shaker is one of my best friends). Mine did have little lumps and I would have preferred it smoother but I didn't wisk it. I stirred constantly. Next time I will try with a little less salt, and blend the conrstarch with a little bit of the cold milk before adding it to the pan to solve the lumpy problem and use a wisk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Laotto, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States