Butterscotch Potato Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
My kids love these. Even my husband said, "These are awesome." He couldn't believe I used up all those mostly empty bags of stale chip crumbs in the bottom of the pantry-I was trying to be frugal! I made them in the food processor and just folded in the butterscotch chips at the end. I made half the batch without the chips and mixed them in with the last half. Very easy and very good! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Very easy to make and tastes great. Excellent way to get rid of the "crumbs" in the bottom of the bag. I put white choclate instead of butterscotch one time and that was good too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These are surprisingly good - nice and crunchy! I added 1 t of vanilla. Don't let the potato chips put you off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
These cookies were interesting. Quick and easy to make but I don't think I'd make them again with the butterscotch chips. The butterscotch is a little too sweet so it overwhelms the salty taste. Maybe something like semisweet chocolate chips would make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
These cookies are nothing to write home about their are not good or bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I really, really liked this recipe! Quick and extremely easy to make, and with a really good tasting, not-too-sweet cookie as your end result. I particularly liked the fact that, though the recipe calls for real butter, you didn't have to refrigerate the dough before baking. I adapted the recipe to a half batch with no problems. The only thing I found I had to do differently was modify the baking time a bit: I cooked them for about 11 minutes on a parchment paper-lined sheet, and they turned out beautifully. My entire family loved these cookies, and I will definitely make them again. Thanks so much, Arlene! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Great cookie! I really hate when people totally change a recipe and then give it a 4 or 5 rating. In my opinion, a recipe should be rated on how good it is based on how it was written; but, having said that, I have made these cookies six times, and I have used a few variations. The first few times, I made them as written, and then I used chocolate chips instead of butterscotch & added some pecans I made a batch for my family, then 2 batches for work and they were all snapped up within a few minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I woke up yesterday morning remembering a potato chip cookie that my mom last made probably 30 years ago. I did an ingredient search and couldn't believe a recipe was posted. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly -- just the way I remembered them. I took them to our family reunion and they were a huge hit -- at least two of my cousins asked for the recipe! These were a great hit, and my daughter told me I should quick working and just bake these every day. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I wanted a cookie that was a little different and this sure did it. I liked the sweet butterscotch mingling with the salty potato chips. My only change if I made them again would be to substitute shortening for half the butter as my spread a little too much. But they taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caiti Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe nearly caused a stampede to our classroom. While not everyone gave them high marks, those who did felt they were our best cookie yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States