Butterscotch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
My family and I rate this recipe a 10! My grandmother used to make an awesome Butterscotch Pie & for years I've been looking for a recipe just like hers. This recipe is perfect and tastes just like Grandma's. The only suggestion I have is to omit the vanilla extract from the meringue. It makes it lose its stiffness and peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I have finally found a butterscotch pie recipe that I love. Very easy to make. I used less sugar in the filling and meringue. It turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the first Butterscotch pie I have ever tasted let alone made so I was not sure what to expect. It turned out very good & the person I made it for loved it. It was not difficult at all. used pillsbury crusts sprinkled with sugar. Made it 2 more times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
My mother makes herself a butterscotch cream pie every year for her birthday and this last year I decided to do it for her. She was so impressed with the way this turned out. She has always used a recipe found in an old cookbook that requires tons of stirring and the use of flour. She couldn't believe it when I told her how easy this was and that I'd used cornstarch! Will definately make again and thanks for giving my mom a new recipe for an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious! A beautiful butterscotch pudding makes for a rich, tasty pie. I didn't cook the custard quite long enough....make sure you cook it until it's really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
AWESOME PIE THANKS FOR SHARING I MADE TWO PIES FOR MY FRIENDS FOR THE HOLIDAYS AND THEY WANT MORE THANKSAGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This butterscotch pie is wonderful. I had looked for a few years for a butterscotch pie recipe like what my Grandmother used to make and then I found this one! She was from Ohio and made this pie for every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I am thankful to have found this to share with my family since they never had a chance to taste her pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent, cooked the filling in the microwave and it was ready in no time! Be sure and whisk frequently. Not overly sweet as some of the other recipes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scott's sunshine
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW...This is a good pie. It's very sweet though, so you'll only need a small piece. It's great with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott's sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This makes a beautiful and wonderful pie. The filling thickened perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I changed was that I cooked the filling in the microwave as I do all my creme type pies. Cook the mixture at ALMOST full power for a few short minutes, but, be sure to stir quite often so that it will mix well as it cooks. Delicious pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States