Butterscotch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was my first attempt at a cream pie, and I flopped. I only cooked the butterscotch mixture until it began to thicken, thinking that it would thicken even more as it baked in the oven. Wrong! We "drank" this pie! But, surprisingly, it still tasted great, and next time I'll know to cook it until very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
My family and I rate this recipe a 10! My grandmother used to make an awesome Butterscotch Pie & for years I've been looking for a recipe just like hers. This recipe is perfect and tastes just like Grandma's. The only suggestion I have is to omit the vanilla extract from the meringue. It makes it lose its stiffness and peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious! A beautiful butterscotch pudding makes for a rich, tasty pie. I didn't cook the custard quite long enough....make sure you cook it until it's really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I have finally found a butterscotch pie recipe that I love. Very easy to make. I used less sugar in the filling and meringue. It turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great recipe Debbie! I have a tried and true recipe for Butterscotch Pie, passed down from my great-grandmother but I wanted to try this one because it uses cornstarch (mine uses lots of flour). The taste, texture, and color are fantastic. However, my meringue seperated from the filling, as stated by previous reviewers. I made sure to seal the meringue right to the edges of the pie crust but the meringue still slides right off the pie when I slice it. But for that, I would have gladly given this a 5-star rating. It tastes divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
My mother makes herself a butterscotch cream pie every year for her birthday and this last year I decided to do it for her. She was so impressed with the way this turned out. She has always used a recipe found in an old cookbook that requires tons of stirring and the use of flour. She couldn't believe it when I told her how easy this was and that I'd used cornstarch! Will definately make again and thanks for giving my mom a new recipe for an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I'm not sure what happened, but after cooking this for nearly TWO HOURS, it still had not thickened. I added more cornstarch, which made it taste grainy - so don't try that. I poured it into the shell and allowed it to cool hoping it would thicken. It didn't - so don't try that, either. I see that lots of others had success with this recipe, so I'm not sure what the deal was. I did, however, throw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent, cooked the filling in the microwave and it was ready in no time! Be sure and whisk frequently. Not overly sweet as some of the other recipes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This recipe is apparantly not for the novice. It was my first attempt at a butterscotch pie and I wasn't sure just how thick this was supposed to be cooked before filling the pie shell. This ran like the Bulls of Pamplona on me, but tasted pretty good just the same. The meringue was great. I'll try this again, but will cook it a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the first Butterscotch pie I have ever tasted let alone made so I was not sure what to expect. It turned out very good & the person I made it for loved it. It was not difficult at all. used pillsbury crusts sprinkled with sugar. Made it 2 more times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States