Butterscotch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Shelly C.
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is my first attempt at Butterscotch Pie. After cooling, it did not congeal like I had hoped. Also, I would have liked a stronger butterscotch flavor. I will probably try some of the other Butterscotch Pie recipe's before trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scott's sunshine
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW...This is a good pie. It's very sweet though, so you'll only need a small piece. It's great with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott's sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent, cooked the filling in the microwave and it was ready in no time! Be sure and whisk frequently. Not overly sweet as some of the other recipes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This butterscotch pie is wonderful. I had looked for a few years for a butterscotch pie recipe like what my Grandmother used to make and then I found this one! She was from Ohio and made this pie for every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I am thankful to have found this to share with my family since they never had a chance to taste her pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I have made this a couple of times trying to overcome it separating from the edge but no matter what I try...it still does. I enjoy this pie (I'm a big butterscotch lover) but noone else cared for it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great recipe Debbie! I have a tried and true recipe for Butterscotch Pie, passed down from my great-grandmother but I wanted to try this one because it uses cornstarch (mine uses lots of flour). The taste, texture, and color are fantastic. However, my meringue seperated from the filling, as stated by previous reviewers. I made sure to seal the meringue right to the edges of the pie crust but the meringue still slides right off the pie when I slice it. But for that, I would have gladly given this a 5-star rating. It tastes divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
The flavour of this pie was really authentic, and the meringue turned out well. My only complaint is that after the finished pie came out of the oven, the filling began to seperate. Next time, I will not add the 2 tablespoons of butter, and that should fix the problem. The filling thickened up really well, and had it not seperated, it would have cut really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I'm not sure what happened, but after cooking this for nearly TWO HOURS, it still had not thickened. I added more cornstarch, which made it taste grainy - so don't try that. I poured it into the shell and allowed it to cool hoping it would thicken. It didn't - so don't try that, either. I see that lots of others had success with this recipe, so I'm not sure what the deal was. I did, however, throw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
AWESOME PIE THANKS FOR SHARING I MADE TWO PIES FOR MY FRIENDS FOR THE HOLIDAYS AND THEY WANT MORE THANKSAGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious! A beautiful butterscotch pudding makes for a rich, tasty pie. I didn't cook the custard quite long enough....make sure you cook it until it's really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States