Butterscotch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Turned out pretty good. Filling got really watery after I refrigerated it. I will try it again. I really liked the meringue on top, and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was the third cream pie I made. My Caramel was perfect, my lemon sublime, and then I tried this. I did not care for this. After cooking 45 minutes, it was still runny. I hoped it would thicken as it cooled -- it didn't. In addition to the runny texture, it was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This pie was unbelievably good! I made the filling on the stovetop and made sure to boil it for approx. 5 mins- and the filling once set - turned out amazing! I omitted the vanilla from the meringue- but other than that - kept the recipe as is. My whole family loved this pie- my husband and son couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Whoa! The pie was awfully sweet! It was fun to try, but probably won't be trying this one again. It would probably be really good with about half the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was my first time ever making a Butterscoth Pie. As a child I remember my mother making them every Thanksgiving and Christmas. She passed away long ago, so I wanted to try this out for Thanksgiving. My test pie turned out wonderful. I made sure to stir till it was THICKER than pudding like the other reviewers reccomended. It turned out fantastic. The only thing I did't like was the taste of the meringue. It was a little off, I'm not sure why. Other than that, it was perfect! Will make more in a few days for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe is very good very much like my Mom's that she made from scratch. I also didn't use a double broiler, just have to stir good. My husband's favorite is butterscotch-he loved it. The only change I would is decrease sugar a little just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This makes a beautiful and wonderful pie. The filling thickened perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I changed was that I cooked the filling in the microwave as I do all my creme type pies. Cook the mixture at ALMOST full power for a few short minutes, but, be sure to stir quite often so that it will mix well as it cooks. Delicious pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was my first attempt at a butterscotch pie. Everyone loved it, but I had problems with the cooking. I cooked the mixture with a double broiler for 45 minutes and it never thickened. I poured it into another sauce pan, turned the heat to high, stirring constantly, allowed it to boil and it thickened almost instantly. Next time i will temper the eggs and then cook at a highter heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was the first time I made this type of pie and it was great my dad loves butterscotch pies and he loved this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was my first ever butterscotch pie but was also my first pudding pie from scratch. It was really tasty. My husband really liked it as well as my father-in-law. The pudding was not as set as I would have liked so next time I make it I will cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHATMOMMA1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States