Butterscotch Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Whoa! The pie was awfully sweet! It was fun to try, but probably won't be trying this one again. It would probably be really good with about half the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was my first time ever making a Butterscoth Pie. As a child I remember my mother making them every Thanksgiving and Christmas. She passed away long ago, so I wanted to try this out for Thanksgiving. My test pie turned out wonderful. I made sure to stir till it was THICKER than pudding like the other reviewers reccomended. It turned out fantastic. The only thing I did't like was the taste of the meringue. It was a little off, I'm not sure why. Other than that, it was perfect! Will make more in a few days for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe is very good very much like my Mom's that she made from scratch. I also didn't use a double broiler, just have to stir good. My husband's favorite is butterscotch-he loved it. The only change I would is decrease sugar a little just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This makes a beautiful and wonderful pie. The filling thickened perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I changed was that I cooked the filling in the microwave as I do all my creme type pies. Cook the mixture at ALMOST full power for a few short minutes, but, be sure to stir quite often so that it will mix well as it cooks. Delicious pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was my first attempt at a butterscotch pie. Everyone loved it, but I had problems with the cooking. I cooked the mixture with a double broiler for 45 minutes and it never thickened. I poured it into another sauce pan, turned the heat to high, stirring constantly, allowed it to boil and it thickened almost instantly. Next time i will temper the eggs and then cook at a highter heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was the first time I made this type of pie and it was great my dad loves butterscotch pies and he loved this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was my first ever butterscotch pie but was also my first pudding pie from scratch. It was really tasty. My husband really liked it as well as my father-in-law. The pudding was not as set as I would have liked so next time I make it I will cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHATMOMMA1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly C.
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is my first attempt at Butterscotch Pie. After cooling, it did not congeal like I had hoped. Also, I would have liked a stronger butterscotch flavor. I will probably try some of the other Butterscotch Pie recipe's before trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scott's sunshine
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW...This is a good pie. It's very sweet though, so you'll only need a small piece. It's great with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott's sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent, cooked the filling in the microwave and it was ready in no time! Be sure and whisk frequently. Not overly sweet as some of the other recipes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States