Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
If I could rate this more stars, I would. I have searched for this recipe for a couple of years. My mom used to make this all the time when we were kids, and couldn't remember (or she didn't want to share)the recipe. Thank so much for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Oh, this is so tasty! I never thought of using an egg in oatmeal, and I'm very glad I tried this recipe! It's really fairly sweet but it's true that you don't need to add anything else once it's cooked. I added just a little milk to my daughter's serving to cool it off faster, and she ate almost the whole bowl! This, after she had some cold cereal! :) Thanks Kiana!! *** 12/07/05 - I made this again using only about 1/3 cup brown sugar, and it turned out great. I prefered it less sweet, but it's still butterscotchy. And I've used both Country Crock and butter mixed in, and I think I prefer using the Country Crock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I am glad I am the first to review this recipe. I can't believe anything so easy and quick to make can taste so good. This will be a great winter recipe when the snow blows. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This tasted good but it was very sticky so its probably the cook here. I also doubled the recipe and maybe I forgot something. I will deffinately try this again. Just tried it again this morning and it came out great! Very rich but the kids loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Hubby and son love this recipe. It is too sweet for me - but I am more of a fruit oatmeal type. I make it every other week for them... they'd have it every other day if I let them (competition with chocolate Malt o meal) Thanks Kiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Mmmm! Yummy with a capital "Y"! My kids loved this, and thought it would make just as good a desert as it does breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Definitely my new favorite way to have oatmeal. I like sweet things, but upon the advice of other reviewers, I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also used egg beaters and cut the butter down to 2 teaspoons instead of 2 tablespoons just to make this a little healthier. Very good, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Yummy! I beat the eggs/milk/sugar with an egg beater. Used 3/4 cup quick oats to make it creamier (boil & stir 1 minute). Added 1/4 tsp salt. Liked it better without the butter, although I tried some with a little butter and that with the brown sugar really gives it the "butterscotchy" flavor. Maybe less sugar next time as very sweet (1/3 cup?). Yum! Will definitely make again - you get your oatmeal and an egg, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I made this for myself first and ate most of the pot, so I figured I'd make it for my boyfriend who loved it as well. I finished it with a little more milk along with the butter and he topped his bowl with raisins. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is very good. I like my oatmeal sweet, so it was just right for me. The only thing I added was a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States