Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Definitely my new favorite way to have oatmeal. I like sweet things, but upon the advice of other reviewers, I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also used egg beaters and cut the butter down to 2 teaspoons instead of 2 tablespoons just to make this a little healthier. Very good, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Jeannette
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
The creamiest oatmeal ever. This is one of those recipes that you'll wish you had years ago - what a great idea to cook oatmeal in milk and eggs. Didn't give it 5 stars because it needs less sugar - maybe 1/3 cup next time - and more milk - at least 2 cups. Used quick oats instead of rolled. This was so good that I actually saved the leftovers (who saves leftover oatmeal???) and warmed it in the microwave with extra milk the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe is excellent exactly as is. My family loves it and has been known to eat it right out of the pot! It's so easy to experiment with. We like to add sliced apples and bananas occasionally and we have successfully tried it with half a teaspoon of Nutella mixed into our bowls after serving. Very good recipe overall. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
delicious. Add the milk, egg and brown sugar to a cool pan and gradually bring the heat up to keep the egg from just being a scrambled egg in your milk. Make sure you whisk the egg well and continue to stir as the heat rises. You can cut the sugar back to 1/4 or 1/3 cup. 1/2 would be way too sweet. As written it makes two good sized bowls or 3 quite small servings. This is the best oatmeal we've ever had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Made this for breakfast today and it was GREAT!! I am a huge fan of oatmeal and this is now the recipe I will use. I used only 1/4 cup of brown sugar and it was "just right". I added raisins during the cooking in order to soften them, rather than adding them after cooking. To cut calories, use brown sugar Splenda and egg substitute and low fat milk. This is a very versatile recipe, so on future oatmeal mornings, I'm going to try adding 1/4 cup chopped apples and a 2 Tbsps of pecans and a tsp of cinnamon, or put sliced bananas on the oatmeal after cooking. Try this recipe and you will NEVER eat instant oatmeal again (ugh). Make this the night before, put it in the fridge and heat it up in the microwave the the morning. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I just made this for breakfast on our first snowy sunday morning with some fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, whole grain toast and it was absolutely wonderful. I did reduce the sugar to just under 1/4 c., used skim milk and added walnuts after it was cooked. Husband wanted fat laden breakfast so didn't want me to make this and believe it or not, he raved. It was wonderful, fast and really easy and I highly recommend it. I will make this often and even for company. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did and... LET IT SNOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, this is sweet. I made the recipe as is and while the flavor was delicious, and the texture was perfect, it was just waaay too much sugar for breakfast. I should have followed the reviewers advice, but I like to make recipes as originally written the first time. Next time I will use half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I followed the advice of some reviewers and cut the amount of sugar in half, and still found it way too sweet. I've made the following modifications and LOVE IT! I've always choked down my oatmeal, now I look forward to this every morning. I use Vanilla Almond Breeze instead of milk. So I use 1 cup Vanilla Almond Breeze, 3/4 cup water, only 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 cup of oats, and no butter. It comes out very creamy, plenty sweet. This amount for us makes two servings, 250 calories each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the best oatmeal I have ever made. Used the quick cooking oats, skim milk and egg substitute and it was delicious. My husband and two children ask for it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Amazing oatmeal! The egg (I actually used egg sub.) gives it that richness that was always missing in the past when I made homemade oatmeal! In addition to the use of egg sub., I also skipped the butter at the end; didn't miss it at all and saved on calories. Also, I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to this during simmering and about 3/4 C raisins during the last few minutes or so, so that they can soften and get nice and plump! Awesome oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States