Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I loved how creamy and rich this oatmeal tasted but I found it way to sweet ( even though I cut the sugar to 1/3). My husband and son thought it was perfect. I will be making this again very soon with 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe, but unless you have a serious sweet tooth I suggest only using half of the sugar. I will be making this often especially with the cold weather fast approaching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made this recipe for one serving. The serving calculator said to use 3/8 of an egg. I had no idea how to do that so I just used one egg. It's still okay but I don't think I'll scale it down again as it doesn't taste right. I'll make it as is next time & save some for later. I did as reviewer junglepilotwife suggested & added the milk, egg & brown sugar to a cool pan & gradually brought up the heat. Next time I'll remember to add the apples as reviewer Kristi suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Delicious! I used less than half the brown sugar and added raisins with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a dash of salt. This tastes like my grandmother's rice pudding & I love that it has a bit of protein in it to make it a power breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Has potential but too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmablee
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I liked this- my kids didn't. It was really thick and had a good flavor but I guess they prefer cinnamon, milk and sugar. It was kinda rich too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLB1218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious! I made this on a camp out-- just put all the ingredients in a pot and let it heat up. Everybody loved it. For a healthier version, use applesauce instead of butter and cut the sugar by half. I usually increase the milk to 2 cups because I like my oatmeal creamy. To make a great dessert, use 4 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made as directed. Perfect! I'll never make my oatmeal any other way. I highly recommend people try the recipe as directed before decreasing the amount of sugar. The recipe is for 3 servings not one so don't be frightened by the seemingly large amount of sugar. Also, it's called Butterscotch Oatmeal for a reason. It's supposed to be sweet and creamy oatmeal. To the author of the recipe: great idea about adding the egg. It really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was good, but too rich and thick for my taste. I couldn' even eat a whole bowl. I did love the fact that it was perfectly sweetened and I didn't have to add any extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States