Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Cut down the butter and sugar by half - this was SO delicious! Update: I've made this weekly now for many months. It is awesome. I also use a mix of water and milk in addition to cutting the butter and sugar by half. For my family it's perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I used steel cut oats (increasing the amount of milk substantially since steel cut oats need 30 minutes to cook). Also, used only 3 tbsp brown sugar, and cut down the butter to 1 tsp. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is so easy to make! I also use half the brown sugar, and I always add whatever fruit I have on hand at the end. Sometimes I will throw in raisins and dried apple dices at the beginning so they soften while cooking. I make this at least once a week now, and I had never been an oatmeal person before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This has become a staple for breakfast in our home. It is that good! I must state that we did also reduce the sugar to 1/4 c and butter to 2 tsp and added a few dashes of cinnamon. We also vary with adding different nuts and/or berries and such to keep it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
OMG! So good! Way to sweet - and I reduced brown sugar to 1/3 cup. Will reduce it to 1/4 cup next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love this!!!! Great way to enjoy oatmeal!!!! Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made exactly as listed and was not happy with it. It did not have the taste of butterscotch and the oatmeal had a slimy consistency. My kids and my wife would not eat it. Just not right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluwht88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Nice flavour, creamy and filling (3/4c cooked). I scaled back to 1/4c of brown sugar which was plenty (and I HAVE a sweet tooth!)Instead of butter I added 1 Tbsp of organic apple butter. I'm not sure if it is necessary for egg (especially if you have an allergy)and if you are watching caloric intake you could reduce the milk and use water (for my WW friends) Would make again (I used GF Oats)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This oatmeal was quick and easy to make. I think the egg gave it a nice richness. I have never seen egg in an oatmeal recipe and thought it was a great addition, it gave the oatmeal a nice, rich flavor. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and agree that it was plenty sweet. I would probably even cut it a little more to just under a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

No-Cook Overnight Oatmeal

Watch how to make super easy overnight oats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States