Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I liked it, but I didn't LOVE it, which I really wanted to. Taste and texture-wise, it wasn't that far off from the way I normally prepare stovetop oatmeal (boiled in milk or vanilla soy milk with brown sugar stirred in at the end of cooking). I was hoping to get a different outcome with the addition of the egg, but the only benefit was some added protein, which provides a hearty, filling breakfast for my 4 year-old DD (who devoured this, by the way). The only differences I made were to add a pinch of salt, 1 tsp of vanilla, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 c, and I added a 1/2 c more oatmeal, as we prefer a thicker consistency. The proportions were then spot-on for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/4 c brown sugar, since I don't like things too sweet, and added a pinch of salt. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is called Butterscotch Oatmeal - expect it to be sweet! I made it exactly as written, and it was very good and very creamy. The portion sizes are about right for how sweet it is. I have also made this with half the sugar and added a little cinnamon and maple flavoring, and that is good as well. I've made it without the egg, and it's good, but just not quite as creamy and filling. As written, it has a very mild butterscotch taste, but don't expect a butterscotch chip type taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Holy cow! This is amazing! I didn't know I could get so excited about an oatmeal recipe. Absolutely delicious! I made a double batch so I would have some left over for tomorrow. I kept the brown sugar to 1/2 cup for the double batch and it was perfect. Added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon too, just because I love those flavors. Thanks for giving such a terrific, custardy oatmeal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Every time I make oatmeal now, my kids come in and ask, "Is it the kind I like?" I can't make just regular oatmeal anymore. I cut the sugar by about half and it's plenty sweet. This recipe is so creamy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Really good. The egg added to the creaminess, would never have thought of that. My husband is a picky eater and he loved this oatmeal recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I make this for my family at least twice a week. I like to add canned peaches or raisins and cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
My brother begs me to make this for him all the time! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I didn't use the egg because I was making such a small portion.. this was really sweet so I cut down on the sugar but wow, this was soooo good! I can't have oatmeal any other way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Really great recipe. I cut the sugar down to 3 tablespoons, and used just 2 teaspoons of butter, but I usually don't put too much sweetener in my oatmeal, so this was very much sweet enough for me. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a tsp vanilla, but 1/2 tsp vanilla is probably plenty. Thanks for the recipe! It makes a lot, so I have two more portions in my fridge that I'll reheat for my next two breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States