Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This oatmeal was quick and easy to make. I think the egg gave it a nice richness. I have never seen egg in an oatmeal recipe and thought it was a great addition, it gave the oatmeal a nice, rich flavor. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and agree that it was plenty sweet. I would probably even cut it a little more to just under a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The very best oatmeal I have ever had! My 2 year old daughter who is extremely picky LOVED this and ate more then just 1 serving. I didn't change a thing and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Just finished trying to eat this oatmeal. I made it exactly as written. I will repeat what others are saying, "Reduce the sugar." I could not finish it due to the level of sweetness. I will try it again reducing the sugar to at least half if not more. All I could taste was sugar:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I was looking for something different and hot for breakfast, so I decided to try this. I myself don't care for oatmeal, and even I liked this. I doubled the recipe for me and my five kids. I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top, and we ate it all. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texas City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I liked it, but I didn't LOVE it, which I really wanted to. Taste and texture-wise, it wasn't that far off from the way I normally prepare stovetop oatmeal (boiled in milk or vanilla soy milk with brown sugar stirred in at the end of cooking). I was hoping to get a different outcome with the addition of the egg, but the only benefit was some added protein, which provides a hearty, filling breakfast for my 4 year-old DD (who devoured this, by the way). The only differences I made were to add a pinch of salt, 1 tsp of vanilla, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 c, and I added a 1/2 c more oatmeal, as we prefer a thicker consistency. The proportions were then spot-on for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/4 c brown sugar, since I don't like things too sweet, and added a pinch of salt. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is called Butterscotch Oatmeal - expect it to be sweet! I made it exactly as written, and it was very good and very creamy. The portion sizes are about right for how sweet it is. I have also made this with half the sugar and added a little cinnamon and maple flavoring, and that is good as well. I've made it without the egg, and it's good, but just not quite as creamy and filling. As written, it has a very mild butterscotch taste, but don't expect a butterscotch chip type taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Holy cow! This is amazing! I didn't know I could get so excited about an oatmeal recipe. Absolutely delicious! I made a double batch so I would have some left over for tomorrow. I kept the brown sugar to 1/2 cup for the double batch and it was perfect. Added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon too, just because I love those flavors. Thanks for giving such a terrific, custardy oatmeal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Every time I make oatmeal now, my kids come in and ask, "Is it the kind I like?" I can't make just regular oatmeal anymore. I cut the sugar by about half and it's plenty sweet. This recipe is so creamy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Really good. The egg added to the creaminess, would never have thought of that. My husband is a picky eater and he loved this oatmeal recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States