Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Was looking for a way to spruce up plain oatmeal and this hit the spot. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar as some suggested but with my sweet tooth I could have taken it a little sweeter. Added sliced almonds, cinnamon, and diced apples for some crunch. Has a great flavor and a wonderful gooey thick texture. It'll probably be my go-to oatmeal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was my first time making oatmeal on the stovetop so I messed something up. I normally like drier oatmeal so this is different. Also having a hard time with the egg flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I loved the creaminess and flavor but wish I would have read others reviews first because it was way too sweet. Otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Excellent except there is too much sugar! You could get away with a tablespoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have made the recipe as is, with an additional sprinkling of pecan pieces to top. I am normally not an oatmeal person, but this is utterly perfect. So creamy and good, with a perfect sweetness level (have no idea why so many people think its too sweet) ive been making it weekly since Ive discovered this recipe. Easy to memorize too! I wouldn't change a thing! Wish the writer's directions were a tad more specific, timing wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
So good. This was a wonderful recipe for taking camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I'd never put an egg or butter in oatmeal, but this was so good! Really sweet for us though so next time will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
this the perfect oatmeal I personally like it the most with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda
Living In: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Fantastic! I followed other reviewers and cut the brown sugar in half. We sprinkled crushed pecans on it-YUM! Due to a dairy allergy, we used vanilla soy milk-great substitute! We also ditched the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very very creamy. Too creamy for me. I used canned milk, and quick cook 1 minute oats and I let this boil for a minute so the oats were cooked, but even then the oats seemed to need more cooking and tasted raw to me. The flavor is fine mostly except for the raw oat taste, but the texture is weird. Very creamy like pudding and then there are these oat pieces. I just couldn't finish my serving but it was a texture thing not a flavor thing. My husband ate his and his only comment was, "It's too sweet." I didn't taste any butterscotch flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States