Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have made the recipe as is, with an additional sprinkling of pecan pieces to top. I am normally not an oatmeal person, but this is utterly perfect. So creamy and good, with a perfect sweetness level (have no idea why so many people think its too sweet) ive been making it weekly since Ive discovered this recipe. Easy to memorize too! I wouldn't change a thing! Wish the writer's directions were a tad more specific, timing wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
So good. This was a wonderful recipe for taking camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I'd never put an egg or butter in oatmeal, but this was so good! Really sweet for us though so next time will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
this the perfect oatmeal I personally like it the most with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda
Living In: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Fantastic! I followed other reviewers and cut the brown sugar in half. We sprinkled crushed pecans on it-YUM! Due to a dairy allergy, we used vanilla soy milk-great substitute! We also ditched the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very very creamy. Too creamy for me. I used canned milk, and quick cook 1 minute oats and I let this boil for a minute so the oats were cooked, but even then the oats seemed to need more cooking and tasted raw to me. The flavor is fine mostly except for the raw oat taste, but the texture is weird. Very creamy like pudding and then there are these oat pieces. I just couldn't finish my serving but it was a texture thing not a flavor thing. My husband ate his and his only comment was, "It's too sweet." I didn't taste any butterscotch flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
So much better than instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I found that I can use whole grain Irish Style Oatmeal (5 grams fiber!) that one can find in the whole foods department of their grocer. Like other reviewers, I cut the brown sugar way down, but I did notice a slight "eggy" taste come through. You may have to experiment a little to get it right for your own taste buds. That being said....this recipe is creamy goodness with protein power that gives your day a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Cut down the butter and sugar by half - this was SO delicious! Update: I've made this weekly now for many months. It is awesome. I also use a mix of water and milk in addition to cutting the butter and sugar by half. For my family it's perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I used steel cut oats (increasing the amount of milk substantially since steel cut oats need 30 minutes to cook). Also, used only 3 tbsp brown sugar, and cut down the butter to 1 tsp. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States