Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummmmm! ok so I'm ashamed to admit... But I used to buy those flavored packets of instant oatmeal. Then I realized how easy it is to make your own delicious version. This recipe is a game changer for me. I will make this very frequently with only minor changes: 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 and no butter. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
It was great. Added some raisins toward the end. So yummy. Didn't need the butter at all. I've made it multiple times now and it even saves well in the fridge. Oatmeal so good that you save the leftovers. Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is delicious! I use half the butter, and sometimes I use a little less sugar (but not always! Sometimes my sweet tooth wins.) Try adding a little bit of vanilla for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is the first time I've made oatmeal that wasn't from a box or a package. It's really good, nice and creamy, and very hearty! I do agree with other reviewers that it's a bit sweet as is for breakfast (and I do have a sweet tooth!). I would suggest cutting the brown sugar down to a generous 1/4 cup, and adding a splash of vanilla. Next time I'll try adding some fresh fruit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really liked this oatmeal. It was nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious as is! Great recipes that the whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is the yummiest, creamiest oatmeal I've ever had. I made this for a church breakfast and reduced to about 1/3 amount of sugar so people could sweeten to taste. I also browned some crushed pecans in butter and sprinkled them on top, and called it "Butter Pecan" because butterscotch oatmeal doesn't sound healthy to me. It was plenty sweet and everyone loved it as-is, even going back for seconds! I am using the same base today for the church breakfast and will add dried cranberries and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel in STX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was the most luxurious oatmeal! I did cut the brown sugar down to 1/4C. I used closer to 2C. skim milk, a capful of pure vanilla extract, a handful of chopped pecans & a small handful of chopped dried cherries! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe just as is written. Very quick way to make tasty "homemade" oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! It's decadent as is. It's still delicious if you cut down the sugar and butter to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States