Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Pretty good recipe. Some modifications I made were: I used regular shortening (did not have any butter flavored in the cupboard!) and added 2 tablespoons butter to compensate, added 2 eggs, only 2 ½ quick cooking oats, and only 1 cup of chips total. The cookies held together nicely, were not dry and had a nice flavor. I did spray the cookie sheet with Pam after reading the reviews of some having trouble with sticking and they came off the sheet nicely. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
definately will make these again, however, I will reduce the amount of oatmeal to 2 cups, as they are very crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
These cookies are wonderful! However they were on the dry side. I would add another egg to the mixture the next time. I also used 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 c. Special Dark chips, 1 c. butterscotch chips and 1/2 c. crushed pecans. Chris in NM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I made these last night. They are really good cookies! Only downside was that the batter was really crumbly. For that reason, I think it's very important to let the cookies cool after removing from the oven otherwise they will fall apart. Next time, I will use more shortening or an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Not bad... I read the reviews and took some of their advice... used 2 eggs and a full cup of shortening... I melted the shortening to make the batter less crumbly... I certainly wouldn't describe these as chewy... very crunchy but really a nice combo of flavors. My boyfriend raved about them and my roommate was eating them for breakfast. (They do, after all, have oatmeal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Nice and soft, but too crumbly when I was trying to move from bowl to cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I love butterscotch and so do others whom never tried it until I brought the delecious cookies over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
A real hit at our church fellowship hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Largs, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
These didn't want to hold together very well, but the flavor was good. I made a second batch adding a second egg and 1 cup of butter rather than shortening. To make them special for my coffee-loving friends, I added 1 cup cappucino chips along with the chocolate chips. Yummy! These are really really good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
The recipe for this item was good, however, this is crumbly. I made the following changes to the recipe, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips and 1 cup of butterscotch. It is crumbly. I had to push down with a fork and water to get to turn out right. But, they are great, my kids can eat all of them in one sitting. I have three boys and one girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States