Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
The dough was very crumbly, despite my having decreased the amount of oats by 1/2 cup. It was too hard to work with. The cookies tasted fine, if a little sugary. Not sweet, but just like eating a spoonful of white sugar. I would not make these again. The kids loved them, however. Half the dough was unusable , as it was too crumbly to form into balls, so I put it in an 8x8 pan and baked it for 8 minutes, then threw 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
good recipe, but needed modifications. I added one stick of butter instead of the shortening (who needs hydrogenation), less than 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 extra egg, less butterscotch than it said, I added a handful of raisins, and finally, instead of 3 cups oats, I used about 2 3/4 cups. The result: absolutely the best oatmeal cookie ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I just made these cookies and needed to use an extra bag of butterscotch chips so I made this recipe. I didn't have any butterflavored shortening and used the same amount of butter. I also added 2 eggs, 2 cups of Oatmeal 1/2 cup each of chocolate and butterscotch. Everybody loved the cookies. I may have to add this to our Christmas cookie list. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I decided to only use two cups of oatmeal after reading the reviews, but I still found that the dough would not stick together. The end product was delicious, however, and I will definitely make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Good recipe. I made it exactly as it said, except to add about 1/4 c. of milk to help with the dryness everyone else commented on. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I would also agree that the recipe was a little dry. I used a little less oatmeal the second time and they were great. Also, cut down the chips to 3/4 cup and added 2 chopped heath bars. The toffee was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very good! Quick and easy to make and bake. Added cinnamon for extra kick--like I usually do. Thanks for the great recipe--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I just made a batch of these and they were terrific. I'm freezing a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Way too sweet for me. Even for my boyfriend who likes sweet stuff. A bit of salt would have fix the problem. And i did use only 2 cups of oatmeat and it came out not crumbly at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
It was excatly the same recipe as my Grandmas except for one thing 1/2 a cup of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States