Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I added less sugar (skipped the white sugar), used real butter, an extra egg, and 1 cup less of oats, and as well cut down the sweet chips by half, as less sugar is better for us, and I added a handfull of raisins. They remind me of Granny's oatcakes from Scotland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These taste really good but like other people said fall apart. This recipie defently needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassiesmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
cookies have good flavor, however getting them off the cookie sheet in one piece is difficult. Tried the recipe as listed and then tweaked it a bit using butter, another egg, and baking powder, the result was taste was still good, but too much fussing to keep the cookie in one piece. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
THese are very tasty. This is by far the best oatmeal cookie I have eaten. I substituted 1/4 cup of Graham flour for 1 cup of oats, I used rolled barley instead of actual oats (healthier); they look & taste like oats but have more nutriton as does the graham flour. I also added 1 cup choc chips & used 2 cups of butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is almost the same recipe as under the quaker oats lid...only that recipe calls for 2 sticks of butter..which tastes better and is healthier for you..and slightly more flour and 2 eggs...and more cin. I just made them adding the butterscotch chips and chocolate chips from this recipe...YUMMY!!!! I can't believe I haven't made these before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Really awful! I tried to follow the suggestions above but these were still a disaster! They smelled good while baking but that was it! A big disappointment...I ended up throwing away the 1st batch and the rest of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
These weren't good. We didn't have shortening so we used butter so maybe that was the problem. They were hard as rocks. Won't be trying this one again. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Great concept but, too many oats--the cookies crumbled before baking and, are crumbling now in my hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Good cookies, nothing spectacular. I found they spread a lot and I that makes them very crumbly and fragile. I didn't have chocolate chips, so used butterscotch only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
The dough was very crumbly, despite my having decreased the amount of oats by 1/2 cup. It was too hard to work with. The cookies tasted fine, if a little sugary. Not sweet, but just like eating a spoonful of white sugar. I would not make these again. The kids loved them, however. Half the dough was unusable , as it was too crumbly to form into balls, so I put it in an 8x8 pan and baked it for 8 minutes, then threw 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States