Butterscotch Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My family and I LOVE these, I have made these bars three times in the past month. I followed the recipe exactly except the cinnamon. I may have added a little bit more vanilla. The texture is chewy and almost melt in your mouth. Thank you for such a great cookie bar for a non-baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Pretty darn tasty! I'll make them again, but I think that I'll play with the recipe a little to make the bars more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. It is my fall back quick cookie and I have been asked for the recipe over and over. I usually don't even add the butterscotch chips. I always add a little extra cinnamon and occasionally I will add raisins, chocolate chips, or trail mix. The recipe stands alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
As other reviewers suggested I added about 1/2 teaspoon salt to counteract the sweetness and the taste was great. Also, as another reviewer noted this is basically the recipe on the back of the Nestle Butterscotch chip package. I was looking to halve the recipe(didn't want 4 doz. cookies) and was able to recalculate it here. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
The Bars themselves were very tasty, but the texture of the bars was very crumbly and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These were awesome and exactly what I was looking for.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kaufman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These bars are really good! I followed the recipe to the letter...except i only had a 9x13 pan, so I baked the bars for about 30 minutes, until they were golden brown on top and the center was set. These aren't too sweet and have a nice oat-y flavor and crumb. They beg for a glass of cold milk! Be sure to completely cool the bars prior to cutting...don't be tempted to try them early because they will just fall apart while warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
easy and delicious. I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9 for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe. Like others before me I added a teaspoon of salt. The recipe is basically the same one off the butterscotch morsels on the Nestle package, so it is obviously a good start. I also added a little more vanilla and extra cinnamon to give it a little more. I also baked at 350 for about 35-40 minutes because I used a slightly different pan size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rahmanoodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These were just ok. After making this I decided it may have been better to use the batter as a cookie dough instead of bars. I doubt I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States