Butterscotch Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this as a recipe selection for the Allrecipes Allstars. I am sorry, but I have to say I did not care for this recipe one bit. I made 1/3 of the recipe and it still made quite a lot. I didn't realize that the marshmallows stayed whole until I started the recipe. It looked like sticks, marshmallows, and was sticky. I used natural peanut butter, which may have affected it I don't know. I would stick with regular peanut butter. These were also too sweet, which I feel with most recipes with butterscotch chips, except these were definitely not presentable either in my honest opinion. I had to refridgerate them to get them to stick together even remotely. It looked like something a kid might make for fun, but that is about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This recipe is great! I don't care for marshmallows, so next time I would probably use butterscotch and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
i like to use potato sticks instend of chow main noodels they are great my family loves them this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good. A bit sweet, but none the less delicious. Perhaps I'll add peanuts to the recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Made these as directed and they were wonderful. Even my picky eaters (who do not like butterscotch) loved them! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I REMEMBER EATING THESE GROWING UP...MY STEP MOM MADE THEM AND I ALWAYS ENJOYED THEM...I BELIEVE SHE USED PRETZELS INSTEAD...I LIKE THE CHOW MEIN NOODLES! I DIDN'T ADD THE MARSHMALLOWS...DON'T CARE FOR EM'...MY KIDS SEEM TO LIKE THEM RIGHT MUCH! THANKS FOR SHARING AN AWESOME RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious - I love the crunchy and sweet. I did not use as many marshamallows as it called for and used two 6 oz. bags of chow mein noodles. I also used crunchy peanut butter since that was all I had. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I've been making these since middle school! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
for something quick & tasty these are good. I usually add marshmallows but this time did just peanuts. I like them both but the marshmallows are just a tad tastier to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I like these with melted butterscotch chips, 1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter, 1 1/2 cups shoestring potatoes and 1 cup peanuts. Not too fond of the chow mein noodles. But everyone has different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States