Butterscotch Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Great recipe! Very delicious, but I would definitely say only add 1/2 to 2/3 of the bag of butterscotch. That is what I did and it was plenty sweet. I also added a little nutmeg, and if you prefer a spicier more "gingerbready" taste I would recommend adding more of each spice and perhaps some more molasses. I baked them for about ten minutes at 330 so they are nice and chewy. Also, someone said that their cookies didn't look like the ones in the picture. I lightly rolled them into balls and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY!!! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
These were amazing, chewy, soft and excellent flavor. I followed others ideas and baked them at 330 for 10 minutes, I also used white chocolate chips, only half the bag, added a tsp of nutmeg and 1/2 a tsp extra of the other spices. This cookie received rave reviews from some of my toughest critics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are very good gingerbread cookies! The things I changed were the amount of brown sugar I used, I only used 2 cups and they were still sweet enough. I also used less butterscotch than called for, and regular molasses instead of light. They taste amazing! The butterscotch goes together well. I think, though, that if you use the exact amount of sugar and chips called for, they will be too sweet. I also used fresh chopped ginger instead of the dried stuff. My boyfriend loves these as well even though he turned up his nose at the ingredients! Haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe! I used all kinds of tips from others on this board. My only comment is to double the batch. Eat the whole first batch yourself. Make a second batchto share with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I loved everything about this recipe. The dough was so easy to work with and baked up perfectly. And the taste was even better. The butterscotch chips add the perfect sweet, creamy touch to these cookies. These are a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Oh my goodness...were these ever delicious! Especially warm from the oven. The sticky sweet of the butterscotch is the perfect foil for the molasses. By the way, without the butterscotch chips these are a nice molasses cookie recipe. Delectably chewy if baked just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
These are fantastic! I wasn't sure if the kids would like them but I was completely surprised when they gobbled them all up. The combination is unique, but very good. I think the "ginger-snap" part of the cookie doesn't come alive until they are cooled completely. They are even better the next day! Soft and chewey as long as you don't over bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fausterlady
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! Will make again! I used a 11 oz. bag of white chocolate chips and about 1/2 cup of both butterscotch and chocolate chips! Awesome, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
OH MY!!!!! These are Wonderful! My husband, who is not a butterscotch fan, ate almost the entire first batch. I only had about 2/3 bag of butterscotch chips. I wish I had a whole bag to use. I also only had the dark molasses. Turned out sinful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALJP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe - even people who claimed not to like gingerbread raved! I might prefer a bit more spice the next time I make this recipe, but it's a keeper as is. Cookies freeze wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States