Butterscotch Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My mom made them for christmas and they were to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent cookies. I love gingerbread cookies, so I was suspicious of how it might taste with the extra sweetness, but it was perfect because the base gingerbread flavor is hardly sweet at all. My husband loved these as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Like others I was very curious about this combination and I was pleasantly suprised. These cookies are awesome. I made the recipe exact and I wouldn't change a thing. Good job with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIVY33
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were terrific. Yes, they are on the sweet side, and you probably don't have to add the entire bag of butterscotch chips to the dough. I liked the balance of sweet and spicy, though. I only used 1/2 tsp of the cloves, but I think it would be fine with the full 3/4 tsp. I'm glad I have these in the freezer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I pretty much stuck to the recipe, but ran out of cloves, so added a little nutmeg. I made large rounded TBLS of dough, and kept everything in the fridge til I popped it in the oven. The cookies came out beautifully baked at 350 for @ 10 mins. Everyone loved the delicate gingerbread flavor, married with the butterscotch. (And yes, I used the whole bag of butterscotch chips!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These are definitely tasty! Such a unique combination of flavors. At first I thought it sounded strange but then I was intrigued and so I had to bake them. The only change I made was to add a splash of vanilla. It's kind of difficult to tell when these cookies are done since they are already such a deep brown color. My first batch was a little underdone in the middles of the cookies but I personally like them like that. The gingerbread is not very spicy and that is just how I like it. These are not crispy/crunchy cookies but nice and chewy. The edge develops a bit of a crunch but not much. My cookies came out rather flat - definitely not thick and cake like. The flavor combination is wonderful and rich. The dough itself is delicious. For people who prefer more spice, you can probably add quite a bit more. I think they are perfectly spiced as is. Your kitchen will smell heavenly while these are baking. I would make these again but not very often. I know that no one in my family would eat these because of the flavors. Especially not my children. Butterscotch doesn't go over very big in my house. But for the right person, these would be outrageously delicious. I think I will go have another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I am usually the one reading the reviews not writing them. This one is different. My husband says these are the best cookies I've ever made. He is right! Followed the recipe as is. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These are incredible. I chilled my dough just a couple hours before cooking and used my small scoop to make even cookies. I did add just a tsp. of vanilla. I made no other changes. Make sure you have milk near by, these are awful rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is a really good recipe and a good break from the same old chocolate chip cookie. Like many other readers, I've tweaked the recipe a little, which is why I only gave it 4 stars. The batter is very stiff and I find it hard to mix in the chips. Personally I feel the full bag of butterscotch is a bit too sweet, but some of my co-workers think the whole bag should go in. I guess it's a matter of taste on that one. Eliminating the cloves makes the flavor a bit less spicy, but again, that is also a matter of taste, and the sweetness of the butterscotch definitely tames the bite of the cloves. All in all, this is one of the best cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I didn't have any problems with this recipe 'as is', I tried the change in temperature and time and it just slowed down the process. Hubby and son just LOVE these, this will be a staple in my kitchen! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States