Butterscotch Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was not very good at all. Most of it went uneaten. It was also not a very appetizing dish to look at. I'm just glad I did not spend a lot of money on ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was awful; very soupy and the apples were very mushy after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I've been making this salad for years and have tried it with crushed pineapple and tidbits; I like the texture of the tidbits better. Also, I exchange the peanuts with cut up Snickers bars. Fold the Snickers in last or your chocolate will get stirred up too much. Bananas taste good in this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was very tasty. I used a can of pineapple tidbits instead of crushed because I like the texture better. Omitted the nuts because I didn't have any but I bet it would be even better with them. I also used sugar free/fat free pudding mix and lite cool whip. Nice snack without the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
A family favorite! Due to dietary restrictions we substitute mini marshmallows for the peanuts. Kids LOVE this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Ugly when made, but tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was good and I was asked for the recipe at a Thanksgiving gathering but I think it needs something extra to kick it up a notch. I did substitute pecans for peanuts (personal preference) and French Vanilla Cool Whip for the plain whipped topping but it still needs something. I'm thinking of adding toffee chips the next time...and maybe more butterscotch pudding or perhaps butterscotch flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love this salad!! I leave out the pineapple, add marshmallows and it tastes just like caramel apples. DELICIOUS!!! Not a pretty salad but oh so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Just made this recipe for a funeral dinner, and it was well received. I've already been asked for the recipe:) I did make one change and that was to add a bit of crunch and garnish. I crushed 1 sleeve of graham crackers, added 1/3 cup melted margarine and 1/3 cup sugar...then toasted in the oven about 8 minutes to crisp it up. I added half of this mixture to the salad, and used the other half to sprinkle over the top for garnish. Great recipe -thanks for sharing with us. God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRIBEFORGOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
TOTALLY loved! I was really surprised with this recipe. 1st, I wasn't sure about adding peanuts & pineapple. 2nd, was if my kids would love it and it being a waste. Which it wasn't. I'll make this again and see how it tastes without the pineapple. But 3 of my children really loved it. 3rd-ly, I made fresh whip topping and added a whip topping stabilizer so that, my whip topping wasn't runny when combined. I think that was a better fit for what I was going for because the pudding really thickened up everything. Will keep this recipe in rotation with other fruited dishes. TY. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States