Butterscotch Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
WOW! THis recipe was soooo yummy and simple, even though the recipe has a few mistakes like "2 tablespoons eggs" its pretty obvious what it actually means, so no problem there :) I have already made it three times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
These bars are easy to make and simply delicious! The only comment I would make is that the recipe is a bit confusing. The list of ingredients says "2 tablespoons" eggs, and the directions don't say when to add the brown sugar and the nuts. So I used 2 eggs, added the brown sugar with the eggs and vanilla, and the nuts with the chocolate chips at the end. Chewy and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These tasted great. However, if you are looking for something flavored butterscotch, this isn't the way to go. I cooked them for 3 extra minutes sucessfully. Also, the first time I followed the directions exactly with the butterscotch chips, but they turned out burnt. I then restarted and only cooked them for 1 minute 50 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These are super easy to make and very sweet! They have a chewy texture, more like a brownie. The batter is really smooth and it didn't look like it would fill the pan, but it worked great. I think white chocolate chips would be a good addition. I did not think raisins would be a good combo with the butterscotch so I skipped them. Big hit with the kiddos! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was a really easy recipe - and it was really good! It really is a 'throw-in-whatever-you-have' type recipe and I added chocolate chips and crushed pecans and it was delicious. I took previous reviewers' advice and cut the brown sugar in HALF, and it was perfect! TIPS: When melting butterscotch: Someone said they chucked it because it was curdled - don't chuck it! Just keep melting and stirring! It won't be smooth the way chocolate chips are when you melt them in the microwave. The butterscotch may look grainy, but don't worry, just keep stirring and melting in 30 second intervals. Once you mix in the eggs and vanilla extract, it'll become smooth and shiny. You'll be fine and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was easy to make and was a hit over Christmas. They are at their very best once they've cooled, but keep them out of the fridge if you like them chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I've made these several times now. Always w/o the nuts (never have them on hand) and w/o the raisins (because i dont feel like it) and they are AMAZING! I can eat a whole batch of these myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These are very quick and easy! THe butterscotch and butter only needs 1:30-2:00 of microwaving time. Other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I found these a little sweet and a little chewy for my taste. However, my husband raved about them like you wouldn't believe! I took them to a dinner party and they were received well there too. I skipped the raisens and found that in my oven, 21 minutes was enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
wow - I really "goofed" these up and they STILL turned out yummy. I didn't let the butterscotch chips cool much before I added the eggs and vanilla - didn't matter. I upped the amount of flour to a scant over a cup, cut the sugar in half (both as per advice from others), left out the nuts and added some quick oats instead for texture and poured into an 8x8 pan for a cakier result. oh yes - and the chocolate chips melted after I added them into the still-warm batter. I'm giving it 5 stars for its versatility. How many other recipes can you goof up so much and still have it turn out yummy?? I'm adding vanilla ice cream to it for dessert tonight - and a drizzle of caramel sauce to make it truly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States