Butterscotch Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
These bars are easy to make and simply delicious! The only comment I would make is that the recipe is a bit confusing. The list of ingredients says "2 tablespoons" eggs, and the directions don't say when to add the brown sugar and the nuts. So I used 2 eggs, added the brown sugar with the eggs and vanilla, and the nuts with the chocolate chips at the end. Chewy and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Terrible! WAY TOO SWEET and runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
WOW! THis recipe was soooo yummy and simple, even though the recipe has a few mistakes like "2 tablespoons eggs" its pretty obvious what it actually means, so no problem there :) I have already made it three times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was easy to make and was a hit over Christmas. They are at their very best once they've cooled, but keep them out of the fridge if you like them chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I tried the recipe twice, and it didn't turn out at all. When the butterscotch chips and butter were melted, the result was a curdled mess. I threw it down the drain, and I won't attempt this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These tasted great. However, if you are looking for something flavored butterscotch, this isn't the way to go. I cooked them for 3 extra minutes sucessfully. Also, the first time I followed the directions exactly with the butterscotch chips, but they turned out burnt. I then restarted and only cooked them for 1 minute 50 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These are very quick and easy! THe butterscotch and butter only needs 1:30-2:00 of microwaving time. Other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I wasn't sure what to expect, but they turned out so good! My husband finished the batch in two days! They might have been gone that night, but they are sugar-shock inducers. I was worried because my butterscotch/butter combo wasn't creamy, but when I started adding the other ingredients, the batter was smooth. I didn't add as many raisins (because I was unsure about the recipe) and I probably could have added them all. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I found these a little sweet and a little chewy for my taste. However, my husband raved about them like you wouldn't believe! I took them to a dinner party and they were received well there too. I skipped the raisens and found that in my oven, 21 minutes was enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I love the combo of easy and tasty! I am not a raisin fan so I didn't even think to add them. Instead I added 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips (instead of the 1 c. all chocolate). Great combo. I might try it with nuts too but it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States