Butterscotch Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
tried this recipe and the taste was great . However the ease with which they are made is not . I used quality ingredients ,Hershey's chips both the butterscotch and semi-sweet and the butterscotch and melted butter never did become really smooth. I struggled through the rest of the recipe and even though my pan was well greased they were extremely hard to remove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made this recipe two days ago exactly as written. It was slightly soft in the middle, crisp on top, and just lovely to eat. I resisted making another right after I had eaten it all. I enjoyed every morsel and will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am a big peanut butter girl, so I added half peanut butter chips and half butterscotch chips. I omitted the raisins as well. Cut the brown sugar down to a half cup, and used 1/2 C. Walnuts, 1/2 C. pecans. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added another 1/2 C. flour because it seemed really odd to me that for a whole recipe of cookie bars it asks for only 3/4 C. flour. I did use 1 C of Nestle's Toll House semi sweet chocolate chips to. I used an 8 x 8 glass pan. This was really really good, something different! And versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Nah....as much of a allrecipes fan I am, this one def didn't do it for me. I'm a pretty accomplished cook, but the melting of the butterscotch & butter didn't work for me at ALL. I melted them slowly, stirring at intervals - and it ended up a yucky separated (almost scorched) mess. LOVE this website but this is one I'll take a pass on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My family loved these! Next time I will make a double batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great bar cookie! Still chewy and keeps very well in a tight container. I upped the flour to 1 cup, added 1/4c.ground flax seed and 1/2 c. oatmeal. I put it in a smaller pan and the thickness was perfect. Because I also thought it was too thin for a 9 x 13. I also put a mixture of choc chips, white choc chips, and butterscotch chips, right out of the oven. After melting, I swirled it and gave it a marbled effect. It looked festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
What went wrong? I have no idea. I gave two stars because it tasted delicious (although it was a bit too sweet if anything). It came out as a sticky, floppy mess that I couldn't separate into neatly cut bars at all. So I ended up having to serve it more as a pudding in bowls. Thank goodness I lined the tray with grease-proof paper! I followed the recipe correctly, and think I would have had to change it quite a bit to get something that would hold together well. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
these were good cookie bars, but i was disappointed with the lack of butterscotch taste. you could even smell it when they were done cooking, but i couldn't really taste it. i left out the raisins but otherwise was true to the recipe. good bars, just not what i was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These turned out very well, and my kids especially liked them. They are very sweet, so I cut them small and was able to get more than 18 small bars from the pan. I did not use the walnuts or raisins since my kids don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
wow - I really "goofed" these up and they STILL turned out yummy. I didn't let the butterscotch chips cool much before I added the eggs and vanilla - didn't matter. I upped the amount of flour to a scant over a cup, cut the sugar in half (both as per advice from others), left out the nuts and added some quick oats instead for texture and poured into an 8x8 pan for a cakier result. oh yes - and the chocolate chips melted after I added them into the still-warm batter. I'm giving it 5 stars for its versatility. How many other recipes can you goof up so much and still have it turn out yummy?? I'm adding vanilla ice cream to it for dessert tonight - and a drizzle of caramel sauce to make it truly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Edelman-Weiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States