Butterscotch Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These bars have great flavor, but were way too thin. Next time I will either double the recipe for a 9x13 pan or put the regular recipe in 8x8 pan. Also, they seemed to need a little more flour so I will be adding about 1/2 c. to the written recipe. But, the butterscotch and chocolate flavor combo was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was a really easy recipe - and it was really good! It really is a 'throw-in-whatever-you-have' type recipe and I added chocolate chips and crushed pecans and it was delicious. I took previous reviewers' advice and cut the brown sugar in HALF, and it was perfect! TIPS: When melting butterscotch: Someone said they chucked it because it was curdled - don't chuck it! Just keep melting and stirring! It won't be smooth the way chocolate chips are when you melt them in the microwave. The butterscotch may look grainy, but don't worry, just keep stirring and melting in 30 second intervals. Once you mix in the eggs and vanilla extract, it'll become smooth and shiny. You'll be fine and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Yummy! I omitted walnuts and raisins and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These were sweet and delicious. Even my boys who don't like raisins just loved them and they were so easy to make! The only thing that I changed was to decrease the sugar and since I'm not too crazy about nuts, I chopped them very fine so you still got the flavor and a little crunch, but were eating huge chunks of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
super yum yum! I used more butterscotch chips instead of chocolate, doubled the walnuts, and skipped the raisins. If you use a toaster oven like me it doesn't take as long to bake, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I've made two batches now and my husband and neighbors are begging for more! I used them on variety Christmas plates for friends and now they tell me just make the Butterscotch Cookie Bars next year. I just might do that, I can't get enough of this wonderful stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were awesome! I skipped the nuts and raisins. I had to cook them five minutes longer, but they came out so well I'm making more of them so I can have some for home and some for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Too sweet and dense and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I love butterscotch and this was a wonderful treat. I have really high expectations when it comes to desserts and this one was fantastic. I only used 3/4 cups brown sugar since some of the reviews said it was on the sweet side and it was still really sweet. I added the rest of the bag of butterscotch chips in with the chocolate chips and walnuts. I did not use raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly until I found I had NO chocolate chips. I shaved two squares of baking chocolate, and added the rest of the butterscotch chips left from the small bag, added a cup of raisins and a cup of nuts. Oh, my! Heavenly Eating! I also used parchment paper to line the pan - the bars came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States