Butterscotch Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Wonderful!! I did take the previous reviewers' suggestions of adding more flour to create a very soft dough. I did not use the pecans, but the cookies came out so flavorful. The smell in my house was just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I increased the flour to 2 cups and the resulting cookie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Based on the suggestions of others, I increased the flour to 2 cups, and decreased the butterscotch chips to 1 1/2 cups. These were a HUGE hit amongst my coworkers this morning. P.S. Use a small scoop to drop the dough. They spread quite a bit when they bake. Also, they're kind of like a candy/cookie hybrid so smaller is better. (You can have more than one if you like...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2000
If you love butterscotch, these cookies are unbeatable! Melt in your mouth is only the beginning ~ Thanks for sharing this treasure!!! Stacie, Ft.Worth, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
These are very yummy and extremely sweet. They stayed chewy for a week! I did add a bit more flour than it called for though. The pecans are a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Maybe it's just my sweet tooth, but I cut down on the chips because of others comments and I thought they could have used more. I am making them again for a cookie exchange this weekend and I will use the full 2 cups. Mine stayed soft until the very end. I thought this recipie was excellent and am going to regret giving 10 dozen away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Good cookie! I had to use a large toaster oven, and the first set of cookies did come out a little flatter than your normal cookie, but after that the rest of the batches came out fine. I don't think you need to grease your pan. Also, the batter is wetter than a regular cookie one, but I think that's what makes it chewier...It is called Butterscotch chewies after all! I guess you could put in more flour as I read another reviewer suggest, but my husband prefers chewier cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These cookies are soooooo good! I baked a pan of them with the recipe as is. I thought they had spread a bit too much, so added more flour like the other reviewers had said. I should have tasted them first. I was very disappointed that I'd added the flour. Yes, the cookies spread, but if you don't overbake them, they come out nice and chewy, leaving me wondering if they are a cookie or a candy--a very good quality for a cookie named "chewies". Definitely don't add more flour!!!!! I was so disappointed with the flavor of them--they tasted like a toll-house cookie wannabe. And, they were bland--too floury and maybe needed salt. I think the cookies turn out so differently for people because we all have different ovens, of varying age and quality. Buy an oven thermometer and see if you are baking at the temperature your thermostat says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great cookies when made right. Don't overbake them or they are hard, but still great with milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle P.
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
These cookies are yummy! Made them for a Cookie Walk that my son's school is having. I read other reviews and decided to add about 1/4 cup extra flour. They spread thin when they bake, but that's what makes them chewy. They are Sweet, so be prepared. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States