Butterscotch Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Based on the suggestions of others, I increased the flour to 2 cups, and decreased the butterscotch chips to 1 1/2 cups. These were a HUGE hit amongst my coworkers this morning. P.S. Use a small scoop to drop the dough. They spread quite a bit when they bake. Also, they're kind of like a candy/cookie hybrid so smaller is better. (You can have more than one if you like...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I increased the flour to 2 cups and the resulting cookie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
i followed it exactly and it did not look appetizing it looked like soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arqualls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
These were very good first coming out of the oven per my kids but they were not too thrilled after they cooled. For me personally they are very very sweet but the kids enjoyed them when they were warm. It has been a few days and I still have cookies leftover which is not a good sign. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These cookies are soooooo good! I baked a pan of them with the recipe as is. I thought they had spread a bit too much, so added more flour like the other reviewers had said. I should have tasted them first. I was very disappointed that I'd added the flour. Yes, the cookies spread, but if you don't overbake them, they come out nice and chewy, leaving me wondering if they are a cookie or a candy--a very good quality for a cookie named "chewies". Definitely don't add more flour!!!!! I was so disappointed with the flavor of them--they tasted like a toll-house cookie wannabe. And, they were bland--too floury and maybe needed salt. I think the cookies turn out so differently for people because we all have different ovens, of varying age and quality. Buy an oven thermometer and see if you are baking at the temperature your thermostat says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yummy cookies if you love butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were OK. I had a package of butterscotch chips in my pantry that I wanted to use up. The cookies were very thin (which is OK) but way too sweet. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
The first time I used this recipes I found that my batter was extremely runny and the cookies came out somewhat flat. They still tasted good, although a little too sweet. The second time I made this recipes I added more flour. (I don't know how much flour I actually ended up adding. I just mixed it in until the dough resembled chocolate chip cookie dough.) The second time, I also chose to bake them in a cake pan and make bar cookies out of them. My coworkers absolutely loved these. I also made it without the pecans as some of my coworkers don't eat nuts. I would definately make this again, but only with the extra flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HDiane
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I liked these cookies a lot, it even got a thumbs up from the hubby who is very hard to please. i did add 1/4 c more flour and cooked at 10 mins instead of the 7-9. they came out beautiful. i'll probably play around with it some more next time i make them. this recipe is definitely a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDiane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Wonderful!! I did take the previous reviewers' suggestions of adding more flour to create a very soft dough. I did not use the pecans, but the cookies came out so flavorful. The smell in my house was just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States