Butterscotch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
i absolutely adore butterscotch candy, and finding out that i can make it at home was a big wonderful surprize!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I attempted this recipe 3 times. The first time i put it in a pot that was too large and it burned (my fault!). The second time I put it in a smaller pot. I waited for the candy thermometer to reach 280, and just as it did, it burned.... The third time I FINALLY got it right... but in my opinion it just wasn't worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Smelled like it was burning, and when it was cooled off it tasted burnt. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe from scratch! If it does not turn out correctly, it is an error on the cooks part, not the recipe. We cut it with buttered shears into bite sized pieces and then shake in a bag with sugar. Will keep for a while. Phenomenal unadulterated flavor. Thank you so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe as exactly as I could (I don't have a candy thermometer.), but it never came to the "threads in water" stage. I had to give up because the mixture actually started to burn. The grainy, taffy-like substance I ended up with tastes more like really good caramel than butterscotch. I'll be making it again because it's so good, but still... Not very butterscotchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I lovvved it! The only problem was it smelled a bit off while i was cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Well I was having fun, but in the end, it didn't get hard. So dissappointing. Not sure if it was something I did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great recipe and easy to make. I didn't use the vinegar but it came out fine. I didn't need to check if i cooked it long enough because when it all is golden brown to brown it is ready. Thanks. It tastes great too. Too clean up is easy too, just use hot water and it melts away if it gets stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I think the pan size is stated wrong for this recipe (10x15) as the candy only filled about half the space. Next time I would use 11x7 glass dish, which would make for more even candy sizes as the candy would be an even thickness. Cut the candy when it is still quite warm. Next time I want to wrap individual pieces in waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Easy & tasy. Like the others said, breakable by hand, not by cutting... I even cut the recipe down to 10 servings and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States