Butterscotch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patricia
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made it exactly as written. Cooked to hard crack stage. Dropped by teaspoonfuls onto buttered flat cookie sheet. Made butterscotch coins. Absolutely delicious. So simple I make it a lot. Most candy recipes I think twice about making but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Turned out fabulous! Super easy - followed directions. I cut it while still warm and shaped the pieces a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
The pan size is wrong on the recipe. I used a smaller glass dish which worked better. The candy looked fine, and it cooled perfectly, but when I tasted it it was completely burned. I think that may have been my fault though, because I wasn't paying attention and the heat went up to 295. I just don't know for sure because I'm not an advanced chef ;)Overall,if you're a good cook, I think this candy will turn out fine for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The candy itself tastes very good-- even my mom, who hates sugary and sticky stuff, admitted that she liked it. The pan size is too big, a few sizes smaller would work out nicely. Also, I put my fire to the lowest setting to avoid burning, and it turned out well. :) When the syrup formed strands in the cup I found it still too watery, so I went on until it formed clumps that instantly sank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Followed directions exact for cooking and used smaller pan (9X9) as advised and it came out awesome. So darn simple and very little clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venom15569

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
It tasted nice, but the pan size is incorrect. I used a 7 by 11 inch pan, and it still didn't fill it. So they were very thin, but tasty. I will try again in an even smaller pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
One reviewer said the temp needs to be at 240 degrees and this is incorrect. That temp will produce a chewy-praline like consistency. Butterscotch candy needs to be stirred constantly as the higher the temperature, the less water content and more concentrated the sugar becomes. This means it can burn easily if not stirred constantly. Butterscotch needs to come up to the temperature of soft crack stage (see below)just as the submitter wrote. . Soft-Crack Stage 270° F–290° F sugar concentration: 95% As the syrup reached soft-crack stage, the bubbles on top will become smaller, thicker, and closer together. At this stage, the moisture content is low. When you drop a bit of this syrup into cold water, it will solidify into threads that, when removed from the water, are flexible, not brittle. They will bend slightly before breaking. Saltwater taffy and butterscotch are cooked to the soft-crack stage. By following this recipe exactly and stirring constantly, it will be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this candy for my husband who is picky about anything new. HE LOVED IT!!!!!! In fact I am making more this weekend. One patch I am going to add cashews. His favorite nut besides his kids. I added the sugar to the warm candy and it was the perfect finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are delicious. I did not think they would turn out so well! I added extra butter and it made it buttery and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I have made this so many times now and only issues i had were because of me not paying attention. Burnt it once. Let it stand to long prior to cutting and forgot the vanilla another time. As for the tast when i do pay attention it is not much different to Werthers Original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States