Butterscotch Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm probably not the best person to review a recipe for Butterscotch Cake since I'm not a fan of butterscotch - it's difficult to be objective. That said, I took into consideration a couple of reviewers' comments - the cake was dry, the cake wasn't butterscotchy enough - and made a couple of changes to address them. To add more butterscotch flavor I used a butter pecan cake mix (just so happened to have one on hand) and substituted 1/4 cup of butterscotch schnapps for part of the milk called for. An alternative might be to add some Watkins caramel flavoring or rum extract, maybe a teaspoon. I couldn't see the point of using egg whites and wasting four egg yolks - this isn't a white cake. So I used whole eggs - two instead of the four egg whites called for and a third for added moistness. While the cake was cooling I kind of just winged it and threw together a butterscotch glaze using butterscotch chips, heavy cream, and just a little butter and corn syrup (for gloss). The verdict? The small changes must have worked because it's moist and butterscotchy, so butterscotch lovers (like Hubs) will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Sooo delish! I get asked to make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayliehay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Loved it! Made it for work and everyone wanted the recipe!!! I was a little worried because the batter was so thick, but it came out just right! For a topping, I warmed some jarred white frosting and spooned it on top and then sprinkled chopped butterscotch chips on top. Yummy!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
my friends loved this cake there were no leftovers and it was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a very moist, simple cake. My husband loved it, but he could have used more butterscotch flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I had a small box of butterscotch pudding (not quite 3 ounces, like the recipe suggested) that I wanted to use up so this recipe was perfect. It ended up making about 16 cupcakes. Even with the smaller box of pudding the flavor was delicious. I topped them with some caramel frosting and it made a tasty snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GoGo Gyoza
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Makes great cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie Abild King
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This cake was awesome!!!! I made it for a large family gathering and everyone loved it! I made a glaze with the butterscotch chips, powdered sugar and milk and then I just bought a can of chcolate frosting and microwaved it to melt it and then poured that on top of the butterscotch glaze. It was absolutely TDF! I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Abild King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! My kids, mom and co-workers devoured it. The only thing I did different was to add some butterscotch chips after mixing because I only had a 1 oz. box of pudding mix. Very delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm sorry to say that I found this cake very dry. The glaze on top helped some (butterscotch chips, powdered sugar, and milk), but I doubt I'll ever make it again. The only thing that might have made a difference in my preparation is that I made the cake a day prior to applying the glaze. Maybe if I'd poured the glaze over a warm cake my outcome would have been different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States