Butterscotch Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
The pan size is big but there won't be any leftovers! I used Jello pudding mix instead of canned pudding, which I couldn't find. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was easy to make and very tasty. Friend who requested this for his birthday was ecstatic. This made it into the permanent recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I made this yesterday for my hubbys birthday. It was sinful! If you love butterscotch give this a try. It was easy to make, try this one you'll be pleased!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
When it calls for butterscotch pudding, it means already made! This is equal to about four of the serving size cups. I made the mistake of using dry instant pudding mix and once I placed it in the bowl, I realized that the only moisture was from the eggs! So, I had to go and rebuy all of the ingredients again! But, the other reviews were right when they said that this was easy to make! I suggest using a mixer (the recipe just said to "combine"). It filled my house with a wonderful fragrance and looks and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
My seven year old and I made THREE of these this weekend and I am NOT a baker, even with simple mixes. Cooking yes, baking no. Anyways, I thought I'd point out for others who don't know, the sugar and the chips won't completely melt, they will carmalize, so don't think you've done something wrong. Also, if you pour all this into a 13 x 9 cake pan it will take about 30 - 35 min. in a 350 degree oven. Everyone who tried this cake loved it. Someone suggested using chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding, and chocolate chips. Now *there's* death by chocolate! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
i really liked this cake. but the only thing i would say is the problem with the recipe, is the butterscotch chip u have to add. mine all fell to the bottom and ruined the first cake, but then i made it again without the chips and it was really good. i say, make it without the chips, they fall to the bottom, and also they make the cake way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I was a little skeptical about the idea of butterscotch cake, but it was requested for a birthday, so I tried it out. I didn't do the butterscotch chips and I did use frosting instead of sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe, and we LOVED it! Even my husband, who says he hates butterscotch, had two pieces. It was SO moist and good. And no one will realize you cheated and used cake mix, either, it tastes that decadent. : ) Great recipe, thank you so much!! I'm tweaking this to make chocolate cake for a party tomorrow and hoping that will come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it is always a huge hit--my family's all time favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Very good. Didn't have any almonds so I added some chocolate chip along with the butterscotch and mixed cinnamon in with the sugar. Served with Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This is one awesome cake! It was gone VERY fast. I served with Cool Whip and it made a perfect combination. Only one suggestion - that is to half the sugar on the top. This will make the cake not too sweet and just perfect. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States