Butterscotch Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Cake had a great taste and texture; however, I had a little trouble getting it out of the pan in one piece. It might have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Really, Really good. I made this because I accidently bought the butterscotch pudding you have to cook instead of instant. I didn't know what to do with it so I made this cake! I didn't use the chips on top but this cake is excellent without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My son requested Butterscotch Cake, which I had never heard of. This was so easy to make. Everyone loved it. My wife has a new favorite cake, now. Next time, we want to try English toffee chips. We will be making this cake for family & church gatherings, as well as for a treat at home. Thank you for a great recipe Angie M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph B.
Living In: Morris, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This is one awesome cake! It was gone VERY fast. I served with Cool Whip and it made a perfect combination. Only one suggestion - that is to half the sugar on the top. This will make the cake not too sweet and just perfect. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Very good. Didn't have any almonds so I added some chocolate chip along with the butterscotch and mixed cinnamon in with the sugar. Served with Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it is always a huge hit--my family's all time favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I was a little skeptical about the idea of butterscotch cake, but it was requested for a birthday, so I tried it out. I didn't do the butterscotch chips and I did use frosting instead of sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe, and we LOVED it! Even my husband, who says he hates butterscotch, had two pieces. It was SO moist and good. And no one will realize you cheated and used cake mix, either, it tastes that decadent. : ) Great recipe, thank you so much!! I'm tweaking this to make chocolate cake for a party tomorrow and hoping that will come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
i really liked this cake. but the only thing i would say is the problem with the recipe, is the butterscotch chip u have to add. mine all fell to the bottom and ruined the first cake, but then i made it again without the chips and it was really good. i say, make it without the chips, they fall to the bottom, and also they make the cake way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
My seven year old and I made THREE of these this weekend and I am NOT a baker, even with simple mixes. Cooking yes, baking no. Anyways, I thought I'd point out for others who don't know, the sugar and the chips won't completely melt, they will carmalize, so don't think you've done something wrong. Also, if you pour all this into a 13 x 9 cake pan it will take about 30 - 35 min. in a 350 degree oven. Everyone who tried this cake loved it. Someone suggested using chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding, and chocolate chips. Now *there's* death by chocolate! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
When it calls for butterscotch pudding, it means already made! This is equal to about four of the serving size cups. I made the mistake of using dry instant pudding mix and once I placed it in the bowl, I realized that the only moisture was from the eggs! So, I had to go and rebuy all of the ingredients again! But, the other reviews were right when they said that this was easy to make! I suggest using a mixer (the recipe just said to "combine"). It filled my house with a wonderful fragrance and looks and tastes delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States