Butterscotch Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was awesome.. I can not say enough about this recipe. My family enjoyed it so much, I had to make another one the next day. WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This cake is very easy to make. Easy prep, mixing and clean up...so simple that it would be great for kids to make as well and since I love easy stuff thats delicious I know I'll be making this again soon. For me the cake didnt turn out overly pretty...but no one seemed to mind. I probably doubled the butterscotch chips (and no they did not sink) and reduced the almonds a bit and I loved the melty then crunchy effect those and the sugar on top made. Definately I would say that caramelization made this recipe for me. No left overs of this cake will last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I enjoyed this cake, and I'm not really a cake person. I subbed vanilla pudding for butterscotch, and left out the butterscotch chips entirely. I am glad I did; the cake is sweet enough without the chips. I didn't have a boxed mix, so I used the Cake Mix from Scratch and Variations recipe on here, then followed this recipe for the directions. I baked in a bundt pan and baked for 55 minutes. The only problem I have now is getting it out of the bundt pan. It's not a bad cake, and I like the almonds, although now that I think about it I should've coated the bottom of the bundt pan with the sugar and almonds bc the prettiness will be lost with the toppings on the bottom. Ah, well, live and learn! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
man this was good. instead of butterscotch chips, i used chocolate chips and added only about half of what it's called. the taste was wonderfully complimenting. you can taste everything! all the tastes are working together to make this delicious and easy (cup)cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Really, really good. I got tons of compliments and will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
i was skeptical when i mixed the cake (the batter was extremely thick) and very skeptical when i pulled it out of the oven (it's not a pretty cake, at least mine wasn't), but after I served it for my mother in laws birthday and got rave reviews i'm a fan. the texture is extremely moist but not crumbly and it tasted great. i left off the carmelized sugar and added butterscotch & dark chocolate chips for a contrast, and iced it with a light whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
good cake,needed more butterscotch flavor.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I sort of combined the 'better than sex' cake recipe and this butterscotch cake recipe. The results were unique and delicious! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My DH loves butterscotch. He LOVED this cake.Very easy to make...made it this afternoon and it's almost gone...someone keeps picking at it.....lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is a great cake! My boyfriend wanted a butterscotch cake for his birthday, so I came upon this recipe. I used the pudding cups, which I hoped I was doing right. I did not put sugar or the almonds on top, instead I put butterscotch chips and chopped up a few skor bars and it was FAB! Im going to try doing a chocolate version next, or lemon?? you could really do any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States