Butterscotch Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Like others, my chips sort of sunk. I did toss them in flour first, so they didn't sink all the way to the bottom. Next time I think I will partially cook then add the chips. Awesome flavor, very most. Already looking forward to trying different flavors of cake / pudding & chip combos. Thanks for this! It will be in my recipe box for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great cake and so easy to make! I received rave reviews from my hubby, who loves butterscotch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delish! From reading other reviews, I would agree that this would work in a 9 x 12 pan, but I would recommend the pan the recipe states - jelly roll pan, 15 1/2 x 10 1/2 x 1 - for 2 reasons. 1) the baking time is only 20 minutes in a jelly roll pan, and 2) since the cake is thinner, you get more flavor from the chips per bite! I opted for 1/2 butterscotch chips and 1/2 semi-sweet chocolate chips to balance the sweetness (tossed chips in a little flour before sprinkling on top to keep them from sinking to the bottom) and skipped the almonds. I also added 1 tbsp. of veg. oil as I was skeptical about this recipe not having any 'shortening', and used Jell-O brand instant pudding (prepared). The white sugar sprinkled on top adds an interesting crunch, similar to that of a coffee cake. The kids love this recipe - it is definitely a keeper, and I look forward to trying this with other flavors of cake mixes and puddings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Do yourself a favor..... skip the chips altogether. It is not worth the hassle. I had to fix the problem. Just leave them out. It is a good tasting cake. Nice and moist. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrycooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I was looking for a butterscotch cake to make for the BF's birthday and saw this recipe. I used less than a cup of butterscotch chips because I was afraid it would be too sweet, and instead of almonds, I used pecans (personal choice). I still found it a little too sweet and I am a big butterscotch fan. Not too sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
You can do this cake in a regular 12x9 pan for a slightly longer time....also works with either homemade pudding/pie mix or premade from store. It is excellent and easy to make. One of the best cakes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Loved this! Can make a completely different cake with different pudding, chips, or cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was easy to make and came out very moist. It had a hint of butterscotch flavor. I used the individual (4oz) cups and could have added another one to add more flavor. The topping didn't caramelize for me but it was crunchy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I LOVED this cake and I can't bake to save my life. A few tips - a lot of people mentioned that the chips fell to the bottom. Toss them in a little bit of flour before folding them into the batter and they will not fall. I made a cream cheese frosting (butter, vanilla, cream cheese and confetioners sugar), and it was DELICIOUS! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is SO easy, and SO good. The sugar on the top is the best! When my husband takes this to work as a treat, it is gone in a flash. I have made with with chocolate pudding and a chocolate cake mix, vanilla pudding and orange cake, and the butterscotch. It is endless as to the number of combinations that can be made with this. I put this in a 9x13 pan and it works fine. Just test it with a cake tester or toothpick to make sure it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States