Butterscotch Brownies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I gave it as a gift before making it, that was the only mistake I made with the recipe, this is because I found that this recipe is more like a pie than a brownie. If you bake this recipe at 350* for 30-35 minutes in a cake pan it come out gooey on the inside and has the texture of a pecan pie. If I had made it before giving it as a gift I would have changed the cooking temp and time on the directions. This recipe tastes so good warm or refrigerated. I changed the recipe a little by using 3/4 cup butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup nuts. I recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Before giving a gift of food, I always try out the recipe... unfortunately not all work. But this one did. When baking, I did make the mistake of baking in a smaller pan which caused the brownies to overcook in some areas. Next time, I will use the correct size... I know they will come out perfect! Thanks for such a good gift recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I tested this recipe before giving it as a Christmas gift and with the addition of the butterscotch chips (1/2 cup) these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
Everyone who ate these brownies really liked them. They are moist and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I made "jars" for Christmas 1999. Everyone had raving reviews and loved being able to bake the brownies on their own whim. C. Acierto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2000
These are very tasty. I baked them for work and for my husband. Everyone thought they were great and very moist. However, the main comment is that they don't have a strong "Butterscotch" flavor. But these are delicious anyway. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. 12/23/2000...I made these in jars for Christmas gifts except I did not include the nuts in the jar. I noted the nuts in the card for the recipent to add when mixing. All recipents that have baked them,have enjoyed them. Thanks again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Excellent, chewy texture with wonderful flavors - and a very user friendly gift!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Unfortunately, the ingredients don't make for the prettiest presentation ever in a jar. The outcome is not bad ~ the brownies were a nice chewy texture and were not too sweet, but I agree with other reviewers - add 1/2 cup butterscotch chips to give not only an extra layer of color to the jar, but a punch of flavor & interest to the brownie (I would do a ratio of 1/2 cup nuts & 1/2 cup chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made these for gifts. Altered the order of packing them into the jars a bit based on other reviews. When I made a batch my husband said they were the best brownies he's ever had. I found the batter to be more like cookie dough though? Still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These brownies are good, I alo added 1 cup butterscotch chips and no nuts, really liked the outcome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States