Butterscotch Brownies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I made the brownies, but added 1/2 cup butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup nuts instead of the 3/4 cup nuts the recipe called for. This really increased the "butterscotchy" flavor of the brownies and made them extra special. People now ask for these well in advance of their birthdays as presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
These brownies are really good. They rise quite a bit and come out cake-like. I only gave it 4 stars because it really does need a modification to the recipe - butterscotch chips added. I added the chips and the brownies were great. Without them you are relying on the brown sugar alone, it's just not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These make a great gift and taste good as well. I double the vanilla and add a pinch of salt to the mix. It really brings the recipe together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2000
These are very tasty. I baked them for work and for my husband. Everyone thought they were great and very moist. However, the main comment is that they don't have a strong "Butterscotch" flavor. But these are delicious anyway. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. 12/23/2000...I made these in jars for Christmas gifts except I did not include the nuts in the jar. I noted the nuts in the card for the recipent to add when mixing. All recipents that have baked them,have enjoyed them. Thanks again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These brownies are good, I alo added 1 cup butterscotch chips and no nuts, really liked the outcome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Guess I am in the minority here but we just didn't care for these brownies, I am glad we tried the recipe prior to making the jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I tested this recipe before giving it as a Christmas gift and with the addition of the butterscotch chips (1/2 cup) these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Excellent, chewy texture with wonderful flavors - and a very user friendly gift!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I gave it as a gift before making it, that was the only mistake I made with the recipe, this is because I found that this recipe is more like a pie than a brownie. If you bake this recipe at 350* for 30-35 minutes in a cake pan it come out gooey on the inside and has the texture of a pecan pie. If I had made it before giving it as a gift I would have changed the cooking temp and time on the directions. This recipe tastes so good warm or refrigerated. I changed the recipe a little by using 3/4 cup butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup nuts. I recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
Everyone who ate these brownies really liked them. They are moist and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States