Butterscotch Brownies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Unfortunately, the ingredients don't make for the prettiest presentation ever in a jar. The outcome is not bad ~ the brownies were a nice chewy texture and were not too sweet, but I agree with other reviewers - add 1/2 cup butterscotch chips to give not only an extra layer of color to the jar, but a punch of flavor & interest to the brownie (I would do a ratio of 1/2 cup nuts & 1/2 cup chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made these for gifts. Altered the order of packing them into the jars a bit based on other reviews. When I made a batch my husband said they were the best brownies he's ever had. I found the batter to be more like cookie dough though? Still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I gave it as a gift before making it, that was the only mistake I made with the recipe, this is because I found that this recipe is more like a pie than a brownie. If you bake this recipe at 350* for 30-35 minutes in a cake pan it come out gooey on the inside and has the texture of a pecan pie. If I had made it before giving it as a gift I would have changed the cooking temp and time on the directions. This recipe tastes so good warm or refrigerated. I changed the recipe a little by using 3/4 cup butterscotch chips and 1/2 cup nuts. I recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDishner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
wouldn't fit in jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These brownies are good, I alo added 1 cup butterscotch chips and no nuts, really liked the outcome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Guess I am in the minority here but we just didn't care for these brownies, I am glad we tried the recipe prior to making the jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I tested this recipe before giving it as a Christmas gift and with the addition of the butterscotch chips (1/2 cup) these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Before giving a gift of food, I always try out the recipe... unfortunately not all work. But this one did. When baking, I did make the mistake of baking in a smaller pan which caused the brownies to overcook in some areas. Next time, I will use the correct size... I know they will come out perfect! Thanks for such a good gift recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These make a great gift and taste good as well. I double the vanilla and add a pinch of salt to the mix. It really brings the recipe together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
These brownies are really good. They rise quite a bit and come out cake-like. I only gave it 4 stars because it really does need a modification to the recipe - butterscotch chips added. I added the chips and the brownies were great. Without them you are relying on the brown sugar alone, it's just not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States