Butterscotch Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This recipe has no butterscotch anywhere in it. This turned out more like a cookie than a brownie. Will not make this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This rating is for the brownies only. The frosting got such consistently bad reviews I decided it wasn't worth the time or ingredients. This is absolutely sweet enough without the frosting; to get more of that butterscotch flavor (rather than just brown sugar) I added about 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. The brownies are quite good; it does help to cut back on the flour a bit (I cut back to 2/3 cup) and I cut back on the sugar since I knew I was adding the chips. The reviews were all over the place on this one and everybody who made it as written gave it really poor reviews, so I was apprehensive but I love butterscotch so I gave it a shot w/the changes mentioned above (a compilation of the most popular adjustments from other reviews) and I think it came out pretty good. I'd make it again but with those changes. Thanks for sharing your recipe; it was great for my sweet tooth fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
They were okay without the icing, but once that was added they were way too sweet. Also after a day they were very dry and hard. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I had to omit the nuts b/c my hubbie doesn't eat them. but I made this in the spur of the minute while I was craving sweets. I couldn't find my bakg pwd (until after!) so I subbed with a tickle of bkg soda and half cup sour cream. ohhh wee so good. BUT frosting is still 2 sweet for my husband even though I almost halved the sugar in the cake and the frosting. guess I shouldn't have added those butterscotch chips on top ummmmm so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First, this recipe says it serves 25, but it uses an 8x8 pan. I guess that would be one bite per person. I doubled the recipe. The sides bake up the side of the pan and the middle stays flat (as others have reported). They taste ok, when fresh, but can't say there's a real butterscotch taste. After a day they are very dry (also as others have reported). I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
LOVE these!! Super easy to make, even my 4 y/o helped. I made the recipe as is. They are SUPER sweet, but I love it that way. I used a 9x13 stoneware pan and baked for 20 min. They were a bit thin, but chewy and yummy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is my favorite butterscotch brownie recipe (without frosting) that I make frequently when I need to take dessert somewhere. I do not cut until I am at my destination as I would want to eat them instead of share them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AMAZING RECIPE!!!! I made it and everyone at work lost their minds over it. One modification I made was the frosting. I used skim milk and added more milk and confectioner's sugar until it was pretty runny. I spooned a few hot tbsp over the cooled brownies and tilted the pan to coat. Perfect caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Frosting is very sweet - should be used as a drizzle rather than a cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I would refer to these as just a chocolate chip pan cookies. I didn't really get a lot of butterscotch flavor coming through. After making the brownies, and tasting a little, I opted not to make the icing, and instead drizzled them with caramel. My kids each had one, but the rest of the pan did not get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States