Butterscotch Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made these butterscotch brownies without reading other comments first, which was an oversight on my part. So after the brownies were in the oven and I had made the frosting, I started thinking about those 3 eggs and hoped they didn't turn out like cake brownies! THEN, I took the time to skim through the previous reviews and thought " Oh no, I should have known better than to use 3 eggs!." Well, luckily enough, the brownies turned out perfect just as the recipe was written. (I did add 1/2 cup flaked coconut to go along with the chopped walnuts.) I found the frosting to be totally unnecessary. It did have a light whipped texture and sweet coffee flavor but it just wasn't needed. The brownies were not cake like. They were chewy - the kind I like - and they needed no frosting! Oh yeah, almost forgot - I have only 9"x13" baking pans so that's what I used instead of the 11"x7" baking pan that the recipe called for. You definitely want to use a 9" x13" baking pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We loved these brownies. I followed what others said and used two eggs instead of three and instead of nuts I added chocolate chips. I have to have chocolate in my sweets!! I baked them for 30 minutes and they were just barely done. I find to keep them chewy instead of drying out they almost need to be slightly underdone. They were sweet so I didn't bother making the frosting. I don't think they need it. Fantastic and I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I love this recipe!! Since i'm allergic to nuts I omitted them, but in the icing, I added some cocoa and choco chips (had to use them) and I also used pumpkin spice coffee (because it's the holidays) and it came out AWESOME!!! About to take it to a halloween party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaischa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out perfect. I did leave off the frosting because I'm running low on confectioners sugar, but in my opinion the brownies didn't need the extra sweetness anyhow. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie.kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I read all the reviews first and was thinking, it should be ok- I like my brownies a little cakey. It wasn't a little though, it was practically cake. I followed the recipe exactly, cooked for 30 mins in a square pan and it was a cake, not a brownie at all. The taste is great, but i'm def. going to go with the reviews and take out an egg and see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou
Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First of all, these are not brownies. They taste like a flattened cake. It was not even a good tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great brownies and the qiuck mix recipe was the easiest.......i added butterscotch chips along with the walnuts...plus my husband thought they needed cream cheese frosting!!!!donnag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I really don't think I'm an idiot. And I followed the directions to the letter. But the pan size is too small and these puppies overflowed, filling my kitchen with a delightful odor of burned butterscotch brownies! Make this in a 9x13 pan, not a 11x7. Other than that, they're yummy. Well, they will be once they're done. All I've had so far is the part I scraped off the bottom of the oven. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe tasted more like cake than brownies. Found it dry, although did have a butterscotch flavor. Overall, not a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Delicious! I also used only 2 eggs, and got a nice, chewy brownie. I also halved the recipe (so, actually, I used 1 egg) and baked it in an 8X8 and it turned out great. I slightly undercooked them, too. I did not make the frosting. I had another butterscotch brownie recipe that I've used over the years but will replace it with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States