Butterscotch Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Read the suggestions and advice of others who have made this and found that it's delicious!! Because I love chewy brownies, as suggested I used only two eggs and sure enough they turned out nice and chewy. I used a 9x13 glass baking pan and baked it for only 27 mins (undercooked) knowing that the cooking process continues even if the brownies are taken out of the oven. I let it cool before cutting with a plastic serrated knife. I will be keeping this recipe and using it many more times over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made these butterscotch brownies without reading other comments first, which was an oversight on my part. So after the brownies were in the oven and I had made the frosting, I started thinking about those 3 eggs and hoped they didn't turn out like cake brownies! THEN, I took the time to skim through the previous reviews and thought " Oh no, I should have known better than to use 3 eggs!." Well, luckily enough, the brownies turned out perfect just as the recipe was written. (I did add 1/2 cup flaked coconut to go along with the chopped walnuts.) I found the frosting to be totally unnecessary. It did have a light whipped texture and sweet coffee flavor but it just wasn't needed. The brownies were not cake like. They were chewy - the kind I like - and they needed no frosting! Oh yeah, almost forgot - I have only 9"x13" baking pans so that's what I used instead of the 11"x7" baking pan that the recipe called for. You definitely want to use a 9" x13" baking pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We loved these brownies. I followed what others said and used two eggs instead of three and instead of nuts I added chocolate chips. I have to have chocolate in my sweets!! I baked them for 30 minutes and they were just barely done. I find to keep them chewy instead of drying out they almost need to be slightly underdone. They were sweet so I didn't bother making the frosting. I don't think they need it. Fantastic and I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I love this recipe!! Since i'm allergic to nuts I omitted them, but in the icing, I added some cocoa and choco chips (had to use them) and I also used pumpkin spice coffee (because it's the holidays) and it came out AWESOME!!! About to take it to a halloween party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaischa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out perfect. I did leave off the frosting because I'm running low on confectioners sugar, but in my opinion the brownies didn't need the extra sweetness anyhow. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie.kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I read all the reviews first and was thinking, it should be ok- I like my brownies a little cakey. It wasn't a little though, it was practically cake. I followed the recipe exactly, cooked for 30 mins in a square pan and it was a cake, not a brownie at all. The taste is great, but i'm def. going to go with the reviews and take out an egg and see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou
Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First of all, these are not brownies. They taste like a flattened cake. It was not even a good tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great brownies and the qiuck mix recipe was the easiest.......i added butterscotch chips along with the walnuts...plus my husband thought they needed cream cheese frosting!!!!donnag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I really don't think I'm an idiot. And I followed the directions to the letter. But the pan size is too small and these puppies overflowed, filling my kitchen with a delightful odor of burned butterscotch brownies! Make this in a 9x13 pan, not a 11x7. Other than that, they're yummy. Well, they will be once they're done. All I've had so far is the part I scraped off the bottom of the oven. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe tasted more like cake than brownies. Found it dry, although did have a butterscotch flavor. Overall, not a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States