Butterscotch Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
After reading the reviews, I decided to try this recipe. I also prefer brownies that are chewie NOT cakey. So, to avoid a cakey brownie, I used 2 eggs instead of 3. The end result was a delightfully chewie brownie. The overall flavor is good. However, it's a little too sweet for my taste so I will most likely cut back on some of the sugar next time. I did not make the icing because the brownies just don't need it. Finally, instead of pouring the entire batter into a 11 x 7 pan, I split the batter between 2 EZ foil pans. One pan was 8¼ x 5¼ x 1 and the other was 9¼ x 6½ x 1. That way we could eat one now and freeze one for later. My oven is very accurate. The cook time for the smaller pan was 27 minutes. The cook time for the larger pan 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Just like Gramma used to make! I made a few changes though: halved the recipe, used only one egg (I suspect if I had made the whole recipe, 2 would have worked), left out the walnuts, and added slightly less sugar than called for. Perfect and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These brownies ARE as good as the initial description. Many of brownie recipes I've used in the past have the potential to turn cakey if you bake them too long. Try five minutes less the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I really don't think I'm an idiot. And I followed the directions to the letter. But the pan size is too small and these puppies overflowed, filling my kitchen with a delightful odor of burned butterscotch brownies! Make this in a 9x13 pan, not a 11x7. Other than that, they're yummy. Well, they will be once they're done. All I've had so far is the part I scraped off the bottom of the oven. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First of all, these are not brownies. They taste like a flattened cake. It was not even a good tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This is the best recipe for butterscotch brownies I've ever tried. Others complain that they are too cake-like, but that is what I like about them. Other recipes I've tried puff up on the sides and carmelize in the center and bottom - not a problem with these. I used 1 cup shredded cocunut instead of walnuts and skipped the frosting because they are plenty sweet and delicious without it. Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This receip came out HORRIBLE!!! It was more like a cake rather than brownies. I was very disappointed. In fact I threw out the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
These are really good, but I think that half the frosting recipe would be plenty. They are just too sweet with the whole amount of frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I read all the reviews first and was thinking, it should be ok- I like my brownies a little cakey. It wasn't a little though, it was practically cake. I followed the recipe exactly, cooked for 30 mins in a square pan and it was a cake, not a brownie at all. The taste is great, but i'm def. going to go with the reviews and take out an egg and see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou
Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great brownies and the qiuck mix recipe was the easiest.......i added butterscotch chips along with the walnuts...plus my husband thought they needed cream cheese frosting!!!!donnag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States