Butterscotch Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Awesome Brownie! Great change from traditional chocolate brownies! This is a definite repeat recipe. My husband and kids raved. Even my youngest, who doesn't care much for sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
These are really good, but I think that half the frosting recipe would be plenty. They are just too sweet with the whole amount of frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This receip came out HORRIBLE!!! It was more like a cake rather than brownies. I was very disappointed. In fact I threw out the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These brownies ARE as good as the initial description. Many of brownie recipes I've used in the past have the potential to turn cakey if you bake them too long. Try five minutes less the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Surprised I found this here, first was in early 90's from some cookbook; and since then a firm favourite with everyone who'd tried it. The other surprise was I never knew about the frosting part, lol. Nevertheless, the brownies have been good unfrosted, and warm from oven. I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. I've used pecans at times, and added some mini choc chips to the batter other times too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This is the best recipe for butterscotch brownies I've ever tried. Others complain that they are too cake-like, but that is what I like about them. Other recipes I've tried puff up on the sides and carmelize in the center and bottom - not a problem with these. I used 1 cup shredded cocunut instead of walnuts and skipped the frosting because they are plenty sweet and delicious without it. Thanks Anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
These brownies are cake like that's true, but the flavor is very nice. Doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13 pan. Not bad, but not a traditional brownie texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
After reading the reviews, I decided to try this recipe. I also prefer brownies that are chewie NOT cakey. So, to avoid a cakey brownie, I used 2 eggs instead of 3. The end result was a delightfully chewie brownie. The overall flavor is good. However, it's a little too sweet for my taste so I will most likely cut back on some of the sugar next time. I did not make the icing because the brownies just don't need it. Finally, instead of pouring the entire batter into a 11 x 7 pan, I split the batter between 2 EZ foil pans. One pan was 8¼ x 5¼ x 1 and the other was 9¼ x 6½ x 1. That way we could eat one now and freeze one for later. My oven is very accurate. The cook time for the smaller pan was 27 minutes. The cook time for the larger pan 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Just like Gramma used to make! I made a few changes though: halved the recipe, used only one egg (I suspect if I had made the whole recipe, 2 would have worked), left out the walnuts, and added slightly less sugar than called for. Perfect and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Very good brownie. Mine didn't quite "ooze" - they were cake-like, as others have said. I will agree with another reviewer that you can half the amount of frosting...unless you like gobs of it! I also used dark brown sugar rather than light because that was what I had in the house, and they still turned out fine. They also went great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States