Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
These are great... but you will enjoy them more with a little help. There is a LOT of sugar here, and that carmelizes when it bakes, so if you overbake these they become hard as a rock when that sugar solidifies on cool down. Watch carefully, and these may seem a little raw when you pull them from the oven. Walnuts ruin these, IMO. Skip those and use shredded coconut instead. Even if you don't like the flavor... it bulks these up and helps retain the moisture and keep these chewy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love these! I substituted 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips for the nuts and they're gloriously chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Good, but they dry out fast. 32 bars out of an 8x8 in. pan? You're kidding... I don't serve brownies (or for that matter anything else) in pea-sized portions. The recipe makes 9 normal-sized brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I am NOT allowed to make these anymore! I couldn't resist them... I had doubled the batch because I didn't have the right size pan (made them in a 9x13) and I finished them off myself in 3 days. I told my husband (who liked the flavor but doesn't like sweets) to not let me make them ever again unless we are going to some sort of gathering or potluck. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I'm finding these brownies quite hard to rate. I'm hovering between a 3 and a 4. 4 because I'd just got home from vacation, had very little baking ingredients and wanted a dessert for dinner and these fitted the bill perfectly. 3 because I was disappointed with how thin they were. I used the right size pan and followed the directions exactly, but it could have been something I did. Finally I've decided on a 4 because they tasted good and had a great chewy texture. I will make these again but double the mixture and cook them longer. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I baked for the minimum amount of time, and I didn't have any problem with the sugar carmelizing. They turned out nice and chewy. I loathe walnuts, so I replaced it with another 1/4 cup flour. These brownies aren't overly sweet, so if you're looking for more flavor, I bet throwing in a few butterscotch chips would perk these up! Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These are fabulous! I just loved them! This is a recipe that doesn't call for a bunch of ingredients so they can be made in a pinch. I was sure not to overbake them, I only put them in the oven for 18 minutes and they are PERFECT! I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Would give it more stars if I could! A wonderful change from regular brownies....sinful! Definately double the recipe and increase the vanilla to 1T. I used 4 oz of butterscotch chips and 1/2 C caramelized walnuts.....Definate keeper and hard to resist eating the entire pan by yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earlybird0367

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I took these to a bridal shower at work and I got so many compliments - the words "divine" and "amazing" came up. Easy to make with a minimum of ingredients, they are the perfect treat to bake on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
They are very good, but I think i will stick with the chocolate brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haswell, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Lyon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States