Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I took these to a bridal shower at work and I got so many compliments - the words "divine" and "amazing" came up. Easy to make with a minimum of ingredients, they are the perfect treat to bake on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Great recipe! It is easy to make with ingredients usually on hand. They even cut well and stay looking nice for cookie platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
Pretty good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Good, but they dry out fast. 32 bars out of an 8x8 in. pan? You're kidding... I don't serve brownies (or for that matter anything else) in pea-sized portions. The recipe makes 9 normal-sized brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
These are great... but you will enjoy them more with a little help. There is a LOT of sugar here, and that carmelizes when it bakes, so if you overbake these they become hard as a rock when that sugar solidifies on cool down. Watch carefully, and these may seem a little raw when you pull them from the oven. Walnuts ruin these, IMO. Skip those and use shredded coconut instead. Even if you don't like the flavor... it bulks these up and helps retain the moisture and keep these chewy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
A great little recipe to make with ingredients you usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love these! I substituted 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips for the nuts and they're gloriously chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Suppose it's my turn for a recipe to fail inexplicably. Made it exactly according to directions and these just didn't turn out. More like baked caramel sugar. We had to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I baked for the minimum amount of time, and I didn't have any problem with the sugar carmelizing. They turned out nice and chewy. I loathe walnuts, so I replaced it with another 1/4 cup flour. These brownies aren't overly sweet, so if you're looking for more flavor, I bet throwing in a few butterscotch chips would perk these up! Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States