Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I, too, added coconut--very yummy & went over well at the office pot luck. They were a little more moist in the middle than I usually like, so the coconut helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
As simple to prepare as a boxed mix yet better tasting! My kids gobbles them up before Dad was home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Unless you have amazing dental insurance - you're not gonna wanna make these. (I'm positive after the one I tried, I now have about 16 cavities). For the second time in my life, I have to say something is "TOO SWEET." Used Butter flavored Crisco, nixed the nuts and used Butterscotch chips, and added a splash of oil...otherwise the same. These took an eternity to bake, and by the time they were only "set" in the pan - the outsides were pretty hard and crumbly, with the inside very ooey gooey. More like a "cookie bar" than a brownie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
These were not that great. I probably won't make them again. They were too flat and were not thick enough for me. However, they would work if you were really wanting something sweet to eat but only have the basic ingredients on hand. That would be the only time I would ever consider making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I'm finding these brownies quite hard to rate. I'm hovering between a 3 and a 4. 4 because I'd just got home from vacation, had very little baking ingredients and wanted a dessert for dinner and these fitted the bill perfectly. 3 because I was disappointed with how thin they were. I used the right size pan and followed the directions exactly, but it could have been something I did. Finally I've decided on a 4 because they tasted good and had a great chewy texture. I will make these again but double the mixture and cook them longer. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
They are very good, but I think i will stick with the chocolate brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haswell, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Lyon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I used to make butterscotch brownies from a cookbook of my moms. These tasted just like those brownies. I'm not a nut fan, so I left out the walnuts. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These are fabulous! I just loved them! This is a recipe that doesn't call for a bunch of ingredients so they can be made in a pinch. I was sure not to overbake them, I only put them in the oven for 18 minutes and they are PERFECT! I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
i feel there is something missing with this recipe. It is not like a brownie at all. They were flat and boring. I followed the recipe exact. Not a recipe i will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I am NOT allowed to make these anymore! I couldn't resist them... I had doubled the batch because I didn't have the right size pan (made them in a 9x13) and I finished them off myself in 3 days. I told my husband (who liked the flavor but doesn't like sweets) to not let me make them ever again unless we are going to some sort of gathering or potluck. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States