Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My mother used to make these years ago. They are excellent. I used melted butter which added a little bit more flavor, and doubled the recipe then baked in a pie pan to make the brownies thicker. I serve them warm with vanilla ice cream. They are wonderful!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
delish! but did change the following things to give it more of a true butterscotch flavor to my palate: doubled recipe & baked in 12 pie plate so sliced it looked like a torte. ingredients: melted butter on stove top and dissolved all sugar in it...gently stirring it to brown it just a tad...letting cool then adding the eggs - tempering them so as not to cook them. Added 1/2 tsp salt...even though I used salted butter I felt it balances the flavor and increased vanilla to 1 tablespoon for the double batch...adding extra tbs of flour....and 1 cup of chopped pecans! was a knock out ....warm drizzle of cream....few berries! sit back and enjoy the smiles it brings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
The recipe is delicious but makes so few brownies. I would recommend making a double match and omitting the nuts for choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
So, I didn't follow this recipe very well at all. I melted the butter in a bowl and added the sugar (I used light brown sugar) and half an 11 ounce bag of butterscotch chips, stirring until they melted. I beat the egg and vanilla together slightly, then stirred it in to the butterscotch stuff. Then I dumped in all the dry ingredients and stirred it together, and baked in a 6x6 greased glass pan for 25 minutes. I let it cool covered in foil. It fell in in the middle as it cooled, but tasted delicious. I gave this three stars because it's almost a different recipe - I'll try it as written tonight and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These were SO good!! I cut down the sugar a little and added mini m&ms and butterscotch chips instead of walnuts and chocolate chips. They were heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
It tasted good but it didn't make 32 bars, it didn't even make half that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASHASMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is definitely not a recipe I would make again. I absolutely love butterscotch, but I did not care for these. I don’t think they have a butterscotch flavor at all. They just taste like sugar. They were very hard and crunchy on the outside and too gooey on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly, and I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Super easy AND ingredients that I almost always have on hand! I did add some dark chocolate chips to this - and I think I will try some semi sweet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were good. I added butterscotch chips and doubled the recipe. Everyone at work loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
WONDERFUL! I will pass this on for generations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States