Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My mother used to make these years ago. They are excellent. I used melted butter which added a little bit more flavor, and doubled the recipe then baked in a pie pan to make the brownies thicker. I serve them warm with vanilla ice cream. They are wonderful!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
delish! but did change the following things to give it more of a true butterscotch flavor to my palate: doubled recipe & baked in 12 pie plate so sliced it looked like a torte. ingredients: melted butter on stove top and dissolved all sugar in it...gently stirring it to brown it just a tad...letting cool then adding the eggs - tempering them so as not to cook them. Added 1/2 tsp salt...even though I used salted butter I felt it balances the flavor and increased vanilla to 1 tablespoon for the double batch...adding extra tbs of flour....and 1 cup of chopped pecans! was a knock out ....warm drizzle of cream....few berries! sit back and enjoy the smiles it brings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
The recipe is delicious but makes so few brownies. I would recommend making a double match and omitting the nuts for choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
So, I didn't follow this recipe very well at all. I melted the butter in a bowl and added the sugar (I used light brown sugar) and half an 11 ounce bag of butterscotch chips, stirring until they melted. I beat the egg and vanilla together slightly, then stirred it in to the butterscotch stuff. Then I dumped in all the dry ingredients and stirred it together, and baked in a 6x6 greased glass pan for 25 minutes. I let it cool covered in foil. It fell in in the middle as it cooled, but tasted delicious. I gave this three stars because it's almost a different recipe - I'll try it as written tonight and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These were SO good!! I cut down the sugar a little and added mini m&ms and butterscotch chips instead of walnuts and chocolate chips. They were heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
It tasted good but it didn't make 32 bars, it didn't even make half that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASHASMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is definitely not a recipe I would make again. I absolutely love butterscotch, but I did not care for these. I don’t think they have a butterscotch flavor at all. They just taste like sugar. They were very hard and crunchy on the outside and too gooey on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly, and I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Super easy AND ingredients that I almost always have on hand! I did add some dark chocolate chips to this - and I think I will try some semi sweet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were good. I added butterscotch chips and doubled the recipe. Everyone at work loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
WONDERFUL! I will pass this on for generations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States