Butterscotch Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, used organic coconut oil and chopped the walnuts instead of grinding. My husband ate 1/2 the pan while I was on the phone (I'll take that as a compliment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
My brownies fell in the middle while baking. The brownies were good but looked horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this was a really good recipe. I added a little milk because the batter looked really dry, and it turned out really light and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These are wonderful!!! They DO taste like butterscotch! I did make a few changes for the better: I substituted the ground walnuts for 1/4cup chopped walnuts to retain the moisture. I reduced the baking powder to 3/4 t. I also paid close attention to the cooking time. I cooked them for 24 minutes (I am at high elevation). They may look a bit undercooked at first but they will harden as they cool down. Also to test the level of sweetness I made two batches, the first with 1 cup of sugar and the other one with 1/2 cup. My husband and I thought that with 1cup of sugar the brownies taste wonderful, like a butterscotch candy. With 1/2 cup it is fluffier and lighter but a bit bland. Next time I will try 3/4 cup of sugar and I think it will be perfect. I really had to control myself not to eat the whole batch!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were very easy to whip up. We added a handful of chocolate chips to make things interesting (probably half a cup) and it was a sweet addition. I left out the walnuts and added flour to make up the difference, but I think it detracted from the chewiness. I'll try it without the extra flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
A bit sweet. Tasted better the second day after sitting in the refrigerator. 9 year old did not like them... (More for me~~ YAY)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very easy and turned out great. I baked it in an 8-inch heart pan. My knife never came out clean, but after it cooled, it was the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very very sweet. I normally love super sweet foods...but this was a little much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have no idea what happened but the outside looked awesome when they came out of the oven, but the inside was complete sugary mush. The whole thing had to be thrown out. I followed all sorts of suggestions to thicken the mixture, but apparently it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Would give it more stars if I could! A wonderful change from regular brownies....sinful! Definately double the recipe and increase the vanilla to 1T. I used 4 oz of butterscotch chips and 1/2 C caramelized walnuts.....Definate keeper and hard to resist eating the entire pan by yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earlybird0367

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States