Butterscotch Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm currently deployed overseas -- I make a different bread with my bread machine out here every week. The troops LOVED this bread. I added coconut, chocolate chips and walnuts. They said it was my best yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Y~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made one loaf to start with in case I didn't like it. I think my loaf took a little more than one hour to bake, but method and ingredients were very easy. What I did differently is adding some cinnamon chips while mixing my batter instead of raisins. My loaf cracked in the middle midway through baking and batter appeared through. This is why it took longer in the oven and the edged were little burned. I cut myself a slice as soon as I took it out of the oven and it tastes great. In fact I am writing this review while I am enjoying this first slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I did not care for this bread at all. Yes, it was very easy to make, and came out looking perfect. Unfortunately, it did not taste as good as I thought it would, based on all the positive reviews. Tasted nothing like butterscotch, instead just had a weird taste, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I loved this recipe! Made muffins with it, and cut the recipe in half & it made 12 perfect muffins! For my own twist, I added butterscotch chips and marshmallow creme. In each muffin cup, place a very small amount if the recipe in the bottom, then place a large rounded teaspoonfull of marshmallow creme right in the middle, on top of the mixture. Now just continue to fill with the mixture until it's about 2/3, 3/4 full. When they bake, some of the butterscotch sinks to the bottom and the marshmallow oozes out of the top. Makes it SOOOO yum and sweet all the way through, don't even need a topping! The marshmallow flavor is so tame, almost a sweet substitute for honey. All 4 kids DEVOURED them,.and so did their dad! Only had one left the next morning, so I buttered it and ate it cold, AMAZING. I have saved this recipe and will use it the rest of my life, as well as pass it on down the family tree. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
A very pretty quick bread-it baked perfectly and didn't have me second-guessing if I should keep it in a little longer (you may be able to relate...) I enjoyed it most fresh from the oven. My bf thought it was much better with butter... which is likely because it's really not very sweet so he wanted more flavor? I'm thinking my use of half whole wheat flour may have contributed to the dryness it seemed to have relatively quickly (a day or so later). I also added a handful of butterscotch chips, which sank to the bottom, darn it! It was a nice recipe to try, but I think I'll find another recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
EXCELLENT is really the only word necessary to describe this. I couldn't have cared less if the bread was "butterscotchy" or not - I just wanted something moist, lightly caramel-colored and pleasantly sweet with brown sugar. This delivered exactly what I was looking for. I had some fresh cherries and blueberries to make use of and I deliberately chose this bread for them. Two tablespoons of butter (for one loaf) didn't seem like it would be enough to me so I added another tablespoon for good measure. Whether or not that was necessary I don't know, but it made me feel better! The bread has a nice, almost crackly crust, with a dense, moist, incredibly delicious interior. The handful each of fresh cherries (pitted and quartered) and blueberries I added made this bread absolutely exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Love the uniqueness of this recipe. I did cook the butter, brown sugar and a little buttermilk together as one reviewer suggested, but I can't say it brought out the butterscotch flavor. Most of that flavor came from the addition of butterscotch chips. I added a half a bag and next time would probably add more. The buttermilk adds a really nice moistness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Okay bread. I melted the butter and sugar together to get a better butterscotch flavor, but still wasn't what I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made as is and TOTALLY awesome! It is great with apple butter on it! Took to a potluck and everyone wanted the recipe! Will definitely be a regular in my house and makes the house smell SO good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I was looking for a simple dessert and found this. I was a little scared when there was nothing special about the recipe but brown sugar, but when I melted the butter/sugar and let it caramelize a bit like emiliano lee said, it was DELICIOUS. Anyone who says there's no butterscotch taste should try that. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States